Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > What's up with my Johnson a419?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2011, 01:50 AM   #1
Veritas
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Veritas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 137
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default What's up with my Johnson a419?

So with this being so close to Halloween, I thought maybe I'm just having a "ghost in the machine" experience, but I thought I'd throw this one out to the community to get your opinions...

I am an all-grain brewer who has the pleasure of owning 3 (count 'em 3) fermentation chambers/lagering chambers/keezers. Each is powered by a separate Johnson a419; allowing me to digitally control each one for proper temperature maintenance for all of my brewing needs.

Until today, each a419 has worked flawlessly (all are less than a year old). I had recently unplugged one of my freezers (and the a419 attached to it) because I wasn't using it. Today, I plugged it back in to use as a lagering chamber (I'm making a Helles) and the strangest thing happened; my settings were all fine, (SP, Asd, OFS, and dif were all fine; I can share the values, but you'll soon see that this isn't the issue.) So I plug the unit in, and a few moments later, the little green light lit up on the a419 indicating that it was making the connection to the freezer... but the freezer isn't turning on. (Yes, I tried directly plugging the freezer into the wall to make sure it is working... it is.) I even swapped the a419 with one of the other freezers as a "double blind" check to isolate the issue to the controller. It doesn't work on my other freezers either.

So, any ideas? It seems to be trying to make the connection, but isn't creating the circuit to actually turn the freezer on.

Any ideas? Thanks for your help.

__________________

"He was a wise man who invented beer..."
-Plato

Veritas is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2011, 04:34 AM   #2
Hopper450
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 123
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Loose wire in the controller??

__________________
Hopper450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2011, 02:14 PM   #3
RoadKing
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bayville, N.J.
Posts: 452
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Bad plug end where freezer plugs in.

__________________
DIRTY GARAGE BREWING CO.
RoadKing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2011, 02:42 PM   #4
Veritas
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Veritas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 137
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I did pop open the unit and everything seemed to be secure... I'll have another look. Any other suggestions?

__________________

"He was a wise man who invented beer..."
-Plato

Veritas is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2011, 02:57 PM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

If you have a volt meter, use it to test and find where you are loosing the connection. First test the controller output outlet and then go back from there.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2011, 12:59 AM   #6
Veritas
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Veritas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 137
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Good suggestions... I'll check the connections...

__________________

"He was a wise man who invented beer..."
-Plato

Veritas is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2011, 01:37 PM   #7
Homercidal
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Reed City, MI
Posts: 22,988
Liked 1942 Times on 1404 Posts
Likes Given: 1062

Default

Could be a bad relay. Not sure if the indicator light works off the input to the relay, or the output. If it is powered from the input to the relay, then the light might indicate that they unit is TRYING to power the fridge, but if the relay is broke, then it won't connect.

I know that when mine turn on, I can distinctly hear a clicking sound as the relay engages.

__________________
Homercidal is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2011, 01:43 PM   #8
rcrabb22
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rcrabb22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 733
Liked 21 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homercidal View Post
Could be a bad relay. Not sure if the indicator light works off the input to the relay, or the output. If it is powered from the input to the relay, then the light might indicate that they unit is TRYING to power the fridge, but if the relay is broke, then it won't connect.

I know that when mine turn on, I can distinctly hear a clicking sound as the relay engages.
+1 on the mechanical relay click
__________________
rcrabb22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2011, 12:40 AM   #9
Veritas
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Veritas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 137
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Well, after taking my A419 to a buddy who is an electronics genius, I discovered that the relay is fine, but something on the circuit board that regulates the amperage flow from the 110v input through the relay is fried.

Having purchased the unit from Midwest Supplies back in June, I thought I'd give them a call and see what they might do for me. The Customer Service rep who took my call was friendly, helpful, and patient as I explained my situation. He said, "Let me see what I can do... hold on a minute, please." After about 2 minutes, he came back on the line and said, "Okay, I'm sending you a new one today. I'll put a RA form in the box, just send the busted one back when you get a chance." According to FedEx, my new A419 will arrive day after tomorrow. Talk about great customer service! So kudos to Midwest Supplies!!

__________________

"He was a wise man who invented beer..."
-Plato

Veritas is offline
Hackwood Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 01:17 AM   #10
KCBigDog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 298
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Mine is doing the same thing. It worked fine for a little over a year, and now the green light comes on but the keezer doesn't get power. I have verified that the keezer is fine, as it powers on when plugged into the wall.

__________________
KCBigDog is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Johnson A419 Help SeanS86 Equipment/Sanitation 11 03-16-2011 10:37 PM
Johnson A419 temp controller Semper Equipment/Sanitation 8 02-25-2011 11:17 PM
Johnson A419 pre-wired? BrettV Equipment/Sanitation 4 06-30-2010 09:35 PM
Johnson Controls A419 Probe Dan2539 Equipment/Sanitation 1 12-07-2009 08:02 AM
Johnson Controls A419: Big Difference? piperbrew Equipment/Sanitation 6 08-05-2009 07:24 PM