Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Whats this Setup Worth ?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2008, 05:19 PM   #1
Ryanmcgrim
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Whats this Setup Worth ?

Well i am new to home brewing but have certainly caught the bug after my first AG batch. A Friend of a Friend is looking to get rid of his Brew System quickly, and has asked me to make an offer. Point is I dont have the slightest idea what its worth, and similar systems online vary immensely

The System:

48 Gallon (1 1/2 bbl)
Includes: mash tun, hot liquor tank, and boiling vessel all made out of stainless steel and outfitted with 0.5" stainless steel ball valves.

The heaters are 4 KW 30 amp 240V single phase each with independent thermostats (3 of them).

A Schmidling Malt Mill.

Two sanitizable, magnetic impeller driven pumps

a stainless steel 30-plate heat exchanger

Pictures can be found here:

Brewery pictures from friends & fun photos on webshots

This would

and various braided PVC tubing.

What other items will I need, I have access to 55 gallon sealable drums which were used to ship apple juice, would a set up like this work. Also I see no mention of cooling, any ideas?

Overall what would be a good deal for this system, IE whats my first offer??

Thanks

Ryan

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2008, 05:29 PM   #2
ScubaSteve

Recipes 

Liked 66 Times on 48 Posts
Likes Given: 11

I think the bigger question is, "Do you need to brew that much beer?". I think $500-$750 would be a really fair offer...but you never know what he is expecting to get.