Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > What type of carboy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2007, 07:14 PM   #1
noobrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default What type of carboy

I am fairly new to brewing and I need to purchase more carboys (1 to make apfelwein ). Right now I have 1-8 gal plastic bucket w/ a spigot on the bottom. I like this style (because of the siggot) except I cant see clearly what is happening inside. What does everyone else use?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2007, 07:16 PM   #2
TexLaw
Here's Lookin' Atcha!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 24 Times on 23 Posts

A few Better Bottles and a few glass carboys. I want to decommission those glass carboys, though.

TL

Drinking Frog Brewery, est. 1993

Old 12-13-2007, 07:25 PM   #3
BlindLemonLars
Conqueroo Brew

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Quote:
Originally Posted by noobrewer
Right now I have 1-8 gal plastic bucket w/ a spigot on the bottom. I like this style (because of the siggot) except I cant see clearly what is happening inside. What does everyone else use?
If you prefer buckets for primary fermentation, those sold by MoreBeer are translucent. You can easily see the churning of fermentation, and the trub line down at the bottom.

Bucket w/spigot

Old 12-13-2007, 07:32 PM   #4
noobrewer
Recipes 

Also, when mounting spigots. How far off the bottom do you put them? I would assume you want the hole drilled above the sediment layer, so how much sediment do you usually have on a 5 gal batch?

Old 12-13-2007, 07:44 PM   #5
abracadabra

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts