The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > What size Kettles do I need?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2012, 12:02 AM   #1
mrrshotshot
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default What size Kettles do I need?

Not having very much luck finding this answer in the forum.

I want to build myself an all grain brewing system (3 tier) to start creating my own recipes. I'm relatively new to the home brewing world.

I was wondering if anybody could tell me what size kettles I need for the various stages. I would like to make a maximum of 15 gallons (I plan on splitting the finished product between up to 2 additional friends). Obviously I need a boiling kettle of around 20 gallons to accommodate any foaming during the boil. But I'm pretty sure I dont need two additional 20 gallon pots for the mash kettle, and the water kettle.... or do I?

I found a post that sad you need roughly 1 and 1/4 quarts water for every pound of grain in the mash kettle.... but I havent even started looking at how much grain goes into a recipe (I'm still a few months out on this project). I know I need to read and study more on this, but I'm trying to figure out a price range to build myself one of these units so I can get a better idea on when I can make this a reality. If anybody could help me, that'd be great.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2012, 12:04 AM   #2
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 66 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Just get it over with.
http://www.homebrewing.org/55-Gal-Bl...t-_p_1149.html

Old 02-10-2012, 12:30 AM   #3
Jbear
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1