Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Vinal tubing sanitization

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2013, 05:34 AM   #1
Prof_Chaos
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Vinal tubing sanitization

So I have been brewing for about two years now and I think I have my sanitation down, however I am still having a problem with my tubing. After every brew I wash it out with iodophor and let it soak while I wash everything else. Then I let the tubing drip dry and hang it up in my garage. However no matter what I do when I come back to brew a few weeks later the inside of the tubes always has milky spots on them. This happens no matter how long the tubes soak, I have tried everything from 5 min to a final staining hour long soak. These could be from hard water, but I don't think so given there size and distribution. However as I am writing this I am thinking I should check that with distilled water next time.

I am hoping that someone on here can give me some advise on how they clean final tubing, I am really getting sick of buying more every time I brew.

Old 10-29-2013, 05:48 PM   #2
Pappers_
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 927 Times on 661 Posts
Likes Given: 1998

My plastic tubes always discolor and get spots and I don't worry about it. FWIW, I've had one infection in seven years.