Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Verdigris/Oxidation on Kegging Hardware?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2014, 07:23 AM   #1
amfinz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Verdigris/Oxidation on Kegging Hardware?

Hello, this is my first post on this forum, go easy!

I did search around and haven't been able to find my exact problem on this forum, or even elsewhere on Google.

I just started brewing recently (in the last 8-10 months). I got a 5-gallon refurbished keg recently, because I was already tired of the headache of bottling and could afford it at the time. You can see a photo of my kegging setup in the attachments.

Anyway, I have a batch of Irish ale in my keg that I've been drinking, and today I went to open up my chest freezer (external temperature controlled with the Johnson Controls A19AAT-2C), and found this green residue all over all the copper and brass. This is my second beer in the keg, and it didn't happen at all last time I brewed. And it seems to have happened kind of suddenly--there wasn't any sign of it a week or two ago, which is the last time I opened the freezer. The freezer is set at 45 degrees currently, which is the serving temperature I've been using for this batch. The copper temperature probe, in case you're wondering from the photos, is submerged in a bottle of rubbing alcohol (rather than open to the air).

I have attached a couple of photos I took of my setup, and the green corrosion. Reading around online, I think it might be verdigris.

What causes this? Is this normal? Is this dangerous for my beer (verdigris/copper poisoning)? Is there a way to prevent this from happening in the future? I live in Colorado, which is generally very dry, but it has been unusually wet/humid the last few months--maybe a contributing factor. Is it just a humidity issue? I'm pretty sure it's not sanitation, but it could be.