Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Using a water bottle as a carboy?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2009, 03:30 AM   #1
corexcore
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Using a water bottle as a carboy?

So I'm a complete novice with homebrewing, starting my first brew tomorrow, hopefully. I was wondering for future, larger batches, what people think about making a carboy from the water jug that you'd often see on a water cooler, those large, translucent blue 5 gallon containers. Has anyone tried this, or have any reason that its not a good idea? I know that this kind of plastic is fairly O2 permeable, so it wouldn't be suitable for aging or storing, but what do people think about using them for primary and secondary fermentors? I'm a college student, so I'm looking for cheaper alternatives to a $30 or $40 glass carboy, of which you end up needing at least a couple. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks a lot!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2009, 03:46 AM   #2
wilserbrewer
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 9 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 571 Times on 466 Posts
Likes Given: 11

My advice is use it for short term storage...no extended aging. When they stop making baby bottles out of polycarbonate i will revise my position on the matter.

Old 08-10-2009, 05:37 PM   #3
Synovia
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by corexcore View Post
I'm a college student, so I'm looking for cheaper alternatives to a $30 or $40 glass carboy, of which you end up needing at least a couple. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks a lot!
Why not just use buckets? Food safe 7g buckets are available for about $10 each.

Old 08-10-2009, 06:34 PM   #4
bhs668
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts