Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Using 2 pumps at the same time
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2012, 01:38 AM   #1
willeck2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: plattsburgh, New York
Posts: 12
Default Using 2 pumps at the same time

I've got a fairly basic question. I'm upgrading my brew system, and I now have 2 March 815 pumps. I am wondering about running both pumps at the same time. Will they need to be plugged into separate circuits? Or can they run at the same time on the same circuit? I brew out of my garage, and there are only 2 outlets in there, both on the same circuit.

__________________
willeck2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 01:47 AM   #2
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LandoLincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 2,255
Liked 598 Times on 345 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by willeck2 View Post
I've got a fairly basic question. I'm upgrading my brew system, and I now have 2 March 815 pumps. I am wondering about running both pumps at the same time. Will they need to be plugged into separate circuits? Or can they run at the same time on the same circuit? I brew out of my garage, and there are only 2 outlets in there, both on the same circuit.
I'm wondering about two pumps running at the same time as well. As in, "why would you ever need two pumps running at the same time?"

The only thing I can think of is if you're draining the MLT into a BK with pump #1 while pump #2 is draining the HLT into the MLT while you're fly sparging.
__________________
LandoLincoln is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 01:51 AM   #3
ScottSingleton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 438
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

^^^ Yup... I use two pumps for that as well. on a single-tier system you really need two.

Also you could be using one to recirculate your Mash through a RIMS while using one to recirculate your sparge water through another RIMS in the HLT.

__________________
ScottSingleton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 02:26 AM   #4
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts

Default

You should be able to run 2 on a 15 amp circuit with no problem.
(Unless you have a lot of other stuff on the same circuit)

Ed

__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 02:26 AM   #5
willeck2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: plattsburgh, New York
Posts: 12
Default

Fly sparring is exactly why I'm asking. That is the only time I think I would be running both pumps, also maybe when I'm running cleaner through the system after a brew. So can anyone tell me if I'll need to run an extension cord into my house to pick up on another circuit?

__________________
willeck2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 02:30 AM   #6
ScottSingleton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 438
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

according to the manual March 815 pumps (110V variety) draw 1.4 Amps. Sounds totally doable.

__________________
ScottSingleton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 02:31 AM   #7
willeck2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: plattsburgh, New York
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks Ed, I didn't think that two pumps would overload a circuit, but I'm no electrical genius. I thought that I'd previously read something about 2 pumps being too much for one circuit, but I looked all day and couldn't find it, so I figured I'd ask others who have already done it.

__________________
willeck2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 02:31 AM   #8
ScottSingleton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 438
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

FYI, here's where I got that info: http://www.marchparts.com/pdf/815-br-m.pdf

__________________
ScottSingleton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 02:35 AM   #9
willeck2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: plattsburgh, New York
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks Scott, I was hoping to be able to be able to wire both pumps to 1 outlet attached to my brew stand, and then just have a plug running from the outlet to plug into one of my wall plugs.

__________________
willeck2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2012, 03:28 AM   #10
luhrks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 331
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

+1

I run two pumps off of one circuit ALL the time.

superbrewday-039.jpg  
__________________
luhrks is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS