New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Turkey fryer burner shutoff with new kettle




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2010, 09:39 PM   #1
bertmurphy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 78
Default Turkey fryer burner shutoff with new kettle

Hey folks, I just got a brinkmann turkey fryer that has this automatic temperature shutoff switch. There is a button (resistor I think) that the stock kettle sits on that is supposed to measure the heat of the kettle and turn off the flame if it gets too hot. The odd thing is that I can use the stock kettle (aluminum) all day long at whatever flame I want with no shutoff, but when I put my stainless kettle on the burner it turns off after about 5-10 minutes. I've tried turning down the burner way low with the stainless kettle and it still turns off. It should be noted that the stainless kettle does not sit "inside" the allotted kettle area, but sort-of sits on top of it (ie its diameter is larger than the burner's diameter).

Anybody else experience this or know what the issue is? I'd really like to use my nice stainless kettle with ball valve.



__________________
bertmurphy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2010, 10:25 PM   #2
cfonnes
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 915
Liked 60 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Aluminum dissipates heat quicker than stainless, that could be the reason. Can you modify it and move the thermistor so that it does not touch the pot?



__________________
cfonnes is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2010, 10:32 PM   #3
RiverCityBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 762
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I had one like that... had a little black box on the outside with the igniter. If i remember correctly it had a mechanical relay of sorts wired to the thermocouple and all I did was cut out the thermocouple and force the relay to stay open so that gas kept flowing. If yours is anything like mine was, open that little box and it should be self explanatory as to what you need to remove.

__________________
RiverCityBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2010, 12:44 AM   #4
bertmurphy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiverCityBrewer View Post
I had one like that...
Was this like the one you had??? There is a probe by the burner and two wires hooked up to that silver button at the top. Can I just solder the two wires from the button together? If not, I'm thinking I could fashion something to hold the red starter button down and achieve the same thing, but something less ghetto would be better

__________________
bertmurphy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2010, 01:06 AM   #5
RiverCityBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 762
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Unfortunately I misunderstood your original post and I thought you only had the thermocouple to the burner... thats what I had. I have never seen one like that though that senses the temp of the bottom of the vessel. Is it all mechanical or is there a power source somewhere? It would appear that the sensor can somehow disable the gas flow if it gets too hot, so see if you can remove the whole temp assembly from the frame and get it out of the way and see if it stays lit. The thermocouple isn't a bad thing but it makes you use both hands to light the burner which I thought was a pain. Can you get me a few more pictures from underneath and a closeup of the gas manifold (under the black shroud)? That would give me a better idea of what this thing actually is.

__________________
RiverCityBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 07:24 PM   #6
bertmurphy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiverCityBrewer View Post
Can you get me a few more pictures from underneath and a closeup of the gas manifold (under the black shroud)?
This is the fryer turned upside down. The two wires are going to the button that the kettle presses.


__________________
bertmurphy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 07:48 PM   #7
RiverCityBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 762
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Hmm, I would think there would be a battery somewhere but I certainly don't see one... those clips should slide right off those terminals on the temp sensor, just grab it with a pair of needle nose pliers and gently pull one off. With one terminal loose see if it will light and stay lit. If it won't, disconnect the other and pinch them together and see if it goes. One or the other should make it work.

__________________
RiverCityBrewer is offline
bertmurphy Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 09:29 PM   #8
bertmurphy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiverCityBrewer View Post
Hmm, I would think there would be a battery somewhere but I certainly don't see one...
I think I figured this one out. My theory is that the probe from the very first picture is a thermocouple that is used to generate the voltage. The button is a resistor which fails (breaks the circuit) when it gets too hot, then the gas shuts off. So I am going to try removing the wires from the resistor and just hooking them together like you said. If that doesn't work I'm going to just move the button far away from the pot.
__________________
bertmurphy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 10:09 PM   #9
WPStrassburg
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 461
Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

It's a klixon type temp switch that opens when it gets too hot. Pulling the leads off and hooking them together should take care of the switch and leave you able to reattach it if using it a a real turkey fryer.

__________________
WPStrassburg is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2010, 04:02 PM   #10
bertmurphy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WPStrassburg View Post
Pulling the leads off and hooking them together should take care of the switch and leave you able to reattach it if using it a a real turkey fryer.
Thats exactly what I did. Tested it last night and works like a charm.

Thanks for the help guys.


__________________
bertmurphy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conversion from Turkey Fryer burner to Banjo Burner brewfeller Equipment/Sanitation 1 07-31-2011 11:25 AM
Turkey Fryer for burner elmetal Equipment/Sanitation 3 10-12-2009 04:17 PM
Is a Turkey Fryer propane burner enough? Nugu Equipment/Sanitation 11 05-16-2009 02:08 PM
Bayou Burner and Turkey Fryer Pot Rockweezy Equipment/Sanitation 15 05-06-2008 02:39 AM
44 qt turkey Fryer Kettle Question Cheesefood Equipment/Sanitation 13 03-04-2007 03:04 AM