Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Tower of Power in a HERMS Configuration?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2012, 02:53 PM   #1
jclucca
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 74
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default Tower of Power in a HERMS Configuration?

I'm working on designing an upgrade to my brewing system and want to go with HERMS. While I would love to build my own control panel to control the flame to the HLT/HEX, I barely can make time to brew much less start a major project like that.

I've been thinking about using a Tower of Power controller to control the gas burner under the HLT with the temp sensor on the HEX output. I would recirculate the mash through the HEX during the entire mash, naturally.

Can anyone think of a reason why this wouldn't work? I know TOP is designed to do a direct fired recirculating mash instead of HERMS, but I can't see there being a problem with using it that way. Thoughts?

__________________
jclucca is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2012, 11:41 PM   #2
SavoryChef
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
 
SavoryChef's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparks, NV
Posts: 854
Liked 99 Times on 70 Posts
Likes Given: 34

Default

I have been wondering this as well.

__________________

My Cellar http://www.cellarhq.com/cellar/Savorychef

Untappd: Savorychef

SavoryChef is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 12:11 AM   #3
jclucca
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 74
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SavoryChef View Post
I have been wondering this as well.
Glad I'm not the only one. My sense is it would be no different than a regular HERMS, but with the temp probe at the exit from the HERMS coil for the TOP. It's just a bit more money than I'm willing to experiment with.
__________________
jclucca is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 12:52 AM   #4
SavoryChef
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
 
SavoryChef's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparks, NV
Posts: 854
Liked 99 Times on 70 Posts
Likes Given: 34

Default

I think I'm leaning towards the TOP and will have to try it out. I don't see why it wouldn't work. Especially with the two units

__________________

My Cellar http://www.cellarhq.com/cellar/Savorychef

Untappd: Savorychef

SavoryChef is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 11:25 AM   #5
jclucca
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 74
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

I wouldn't think you'd need two units for a HERMS. I was just rethinking my probe placement, and if you put the probe in the HLT only, then just measured the temp differential between the HLT and HERMS output, you should be able to hold the temp where you want it. You'd only need 2 of the units if you were controlling 2 burners, which you would not be doing here.

__________________
jclucca is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 04:36 PM   #6
SavoryChef
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
 
SavoryChef's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparks, NV
Posts: 854
Liked 99 Times on 70 Posts
Likes Given: 34

Default

Ya your right. There would be a small learning curve.

__________________

My Cellar http://www.cellarhq.com/cellar/Savorychef

Untappd: Savorychef

SavoryChef is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 02:58 PM   #7
kartracer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cow County, MD
Posts: 28
Likes Given: 1

Default

Subscribed. I'm at the same stage you guy are. I have been applying direct heat under my MT and recirculating on and off. I'm looking to go to a HERMS system with the configuration you are discussing here for placement of the temp probe. I just ordered a Top Tier from my lhbs with 2 burners - one each for HLT and BK. I plan on just putting my MT on a shelf, insulate it and let the HERMS keep it at proper mash temps.

A Tower of Power controller is on my wish list!

MikeB

__________________
kartracer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 03:35 PM   #8
SavoryChef
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
 
SavoryChef's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sparks, NV
Posts: 854
Liked 99 Times on 70 Posts
Likes Given: 34

Default

Let us know how it turns out

__________________

My Cellar http://www.cellarhq.com/cellar/Savorychef

Untappd: Savorychef

SavoryChef is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2014, 02:58 AM   #9
Ohbsolutely
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jclucca View Post
I'm working on designing an upgrade to my brewing system and want to go with HERMS. While I would love to build my own control panel to control the flame to the HLT/HEX, I barely can make time to brew much less start a major project like that.

I've been thinking about using a Tower of Power controller to control the gas burner under the HLT with the temp sensor on the HEX output. I would recirculate the mash through the HEX during the entire mash, naturally.

Can anyone think of a reason why this wouldn't work? I know TOP is designed to do a direct fired recirculating mash instead of HERMS, but I can't see there being a problem with using it that way. Thoughts?
How did this every turn out? I've been looking for feedback from people who have used the TOP with HERMS...
__________________
Ohbsolutely is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-08-2014, 06:33 PM   #10
Zgreens
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Longmeadow, Ma
Posts: 23
Default

I don't know if it interests anyone, and I'm sorry to revive an old thread as my first post, but I am currently setting this up exactly as described. I will be incorporating a ToP into my HERMS system, with the probe at the inlet to to Mash tun. As I understand, the PID is configurable with the communications link to a PC. In case anyone is curious, I will report back on my success. There seems to be no information online as to weather this will work, but a common thought.

__________________
Zgreens is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got to test out the Tower of Power last night mpcluever Equipment/Sanitation 51 04-01-2014 05:17 AM
Anyone have any pictures of the Blichmann "Tower of Power"? worldzfree Equipment/Sanitation 130 12-07-2013 07:01 AM
Anyone running the Tower of Power? Goldenboy Equipment/Sanitation 48 12-05-2013 12:49 PM
Tower of Power is out... Deuce Equipment/Sanitation 47 06-10-2012 07:29 PM
Tower of Power! Ryush806 Equipment/Sanitation 0 03-26-2012 04:20 AM