Slow Leak out of Spigot

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TerryLove

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am very new to the brewing process and have made one batch before that turned out pretty well with no major issues. However, on my second batch, I have a slow leak at the spigot during primary fermentation. The yeast was pitched approximately 36 hours ago and I first noticed the leak the next morning. I have been reading around on the forums for the best remedy, but haven't quite reached a consensus.

I currently have a sterilized bag around the base of the primary fermenter to catch any leaking wort, but I'm concerned about bacteria and/or oxidation affecting the beer. Should I just continue as is or should I try to siphon the liquid to a glass carboy even though it's about 36 hours in?

Thanks in advance for any help. It's greatly appreciated.

You shouldn't have an issue with stuff getting in as long as you still have positive pressure on the fermentor (airlock is bubbling out and not in).

Generically, check for a crack in your spigot, that the handle is seated all the way down. If you're sure its internal to the spigot and not external, sanatize both the spigot and a small piece of tubing that fits, put it over the end, and clamp it shut (may also need to lightly clamp to the spigot). That will cover you until you go to secondary . If this doesn't work, make sure your spigot is seated tightly to the bucket.

You'll probably have to replace it for the next batch.