New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Setting MM2




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2013, 05:45 PM   #1
BrewIt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 55
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Setting MM2

Hi I just bought a monster mill MM2 and was wondering what everyone had the rollers set at. Was just wondering what was the best gap for efficiency. Also I am planning on running it with a cordless drill. I know you want to keep it as a slower speed, but wasnt sure what RPM was appropriate. I searched the forum but didnt find anything. Thanks for any input.

Thanks,
Dave



__________________
BrewIt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2013, 07:32 PM   #2
MNDan
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Posts: 317
Liked 13 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

.038" seems popular. Slower the better...



__________________
MNDan is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2013, 07:41 PM   #3
Hammy71
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Hammy71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,476
Liked 376 Times on 296 Posts
Likes Given: 534

Default

Also, that better be a bad ass cordless drill. Needs a lot of torque to get that thing churning.

__________________
Hammy71 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2013, 08:08 PM   #4
psbuckland
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 188
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

If it is difficult to start using any drill it isn't properly set. It is kinked. You have to make sure each side is set at the same gap. So GAO left then gap right.

psbuckland is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2013, 08:56 PM   #5
sniperd
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bedford, New Hampshire
Posts: 206
Liked 22 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

I run around 150 to 200 rpm. My drill has a lock button on it and doing a quick guess of counting spins it's around there, about 3 times a second it turns.

__________________
sniperd is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2013, 04:03 AM   #6
BrewIt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 55
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammy71 View Post
Also, that better be a bad ass cordless drill. Needs a lot of torque to get that thing churning.
I have a good milwaukee drill with a high torque setting. So it wont be a problem.
__________________
BrewIt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2013, 04:04 AM   #7
BrewIt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 55
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psbuckland View Post
If it is difficult to start using any drill it isn't properly set. It is kinked. You have to make sure each side is set at the same gap. So GAO left then gap right.
I'm a mechanic so I know all about setting the gap correctly. Thanks though.
__________________
BrewIt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2013, 04:06 AM   #8
BrewIt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 55
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Thanks everyone for the replies. As always much appreciated.

__________________
BrewIt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2013, 04:07 AM   #9
lebucheron
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: La Ronge, Sask
Posts: 242
Liked 47 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

I set mine around .04 , but my little drill needs to get revved up to grind at this gap setting. Just need an excuse to buy a more powerful drill now.

__________________
lebucheron is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2013, 12:44 PM   #10
psbuckland
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 188
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrewIt View Post
I'm a mechanic so I know all about setting the gap correctly. Thanks though.
Thanks for the clarification.


__________________
My Fully Automated All-Electric Brewtroller System
psbuckland is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just looking into setting up kyle6357 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 30 03-01-2014 01:50 AM
setting up new keg kit twd000 Bottling/Kegging 3 02-24-2012 03:42 PM
setting up CO2 kegtoe Bottling/Kegging 5 01-02-2010 12:28 AM
setting keg mot Bottling/Kegging 1 11-28-2009 02:42 PM
Gap setting for Rye JVD_X All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 6 08-25-2009 08:26 PM