Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Seriously, Am I Screwed?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2007, 01:38 AM   #1
Alamo_Beer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Alamo_Beer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manor, Tx
Posts: 2,481
Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Default Seriously, Am I Screwed?

Hey guy's as evidenced here I've been trying to wire my new johnson temp controller....

It works, sorta...as long as the temp is ABOVE 85*....which is good for about NOTHING!

I live in an older house....built like in 1948 or something...could the old wireing be it or did I just FUKC it up?

This ESPECIALLY sucks bc I just got my order in from AHB and really wanted to brew tomorrow or Sunday. I'm using Kolsch yeast and I don't think it'll work too well with my house being at a constant 80*

GRR sorry I'm just pissed off.....


__________________
Alamo_Beer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2007, 01:40 AM   #2
Fingers
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Fingers's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lac du Bonnet, Manitoba
Posts: 4,212
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts

Default

Are you wired to NO or NC?

__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.
Fingers is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2007, 01:44 AM   #3
Zymurgrafi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Zymurgrafi's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NEK, VT
Posts: 2,453
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

Default

1948?

That's a brand spankin new house! Mine's from the previous century (1880's).

Speaking from experience as someone with a bit of every type of electrical technology from the beginning of indoor electricity in his house, I would say no. You can not blame it on the wiring in your house unless something catches fire or blows up.

Well, mostly serious. Is it blowing the fuse/circuit constantly? What is your electrical system rated for, i.e. how may amps are coming in?

__________________

sláinte!

Bristle Bros. Brewing

Zymurgrafi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2007, 02:03 AM   #4
Alamo_Beer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Alamo_Beer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manor, Tx
Posts: 2,481
Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Default

If you guys could tell me where/how to figure that out I'll tell you...

__________________
Alamo_Beer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2007, 02:24 AM   #5
Zymurgrafi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Zymurgrafi's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NEK, VT
Posts: 2,453
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

Default

well, the amperage would be located on your service panel where the circuits or fuses are. There will be a main switch at the top and it will say how many amps. Older houses that are not updated at all will usually have 100 amps or less. Most new homes or updated systems will have at least 200 amp service. You would be blowing fuses/circuits all the time if you had less than 100 and have a lot of modern appliances (computers, ac, mulitple tv/s etc.)

__________________

sláinte!

Bristle Bros. Brewing

Zymurgrafi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2007, 02:35 AM   #6
Alamo_Beer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Alamo_Beer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manor, Tx
Posts: 2,481
Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Cool Gambrinus.....my 'Main' says 100....


EDIT: JUST FLIPPED THE 'COMMONS' AND STILL NO DICE

__________________
Alamo_Beer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2007, 02:45 AM   #7
Fingers
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Fingers's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lac du Bonnet, Manitoba
Posts: 4,212
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts

Default

Unless your entire house went dark, it's not a service issue. It's possible that it's a problem with circuit loading, but given your inexperience with electrical, I would seriously want to check your wiring.

Boy, would pictures ever help. Did the controller come with a schematic? Can you scan it and mail it?

__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.
Fingers is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2007, 02:54 AM   #8
Alamo_Beer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Alamo_Beer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manor, Tx
Posts: 2,481
Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Thanks everybody (yeah I know i probubly could have posted 1 pic and this all could have been avoided...)!!1

I got it figured out...i'm an idiot is what it boils down to . I had 1 screw connected to the 'white' wire and 1 to the 'black' wire....both are now connected to the 'black' wires and it's humming away at 65* now!

Thanks again everybody....

__________________
Alamo_Beer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2007, 03:11 AM   #9
Fingers
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Fingers's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lac du Bonnet, Manitoba
Posts: 4,212
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts

Default

Atta boy. It's usually a silly mistake like that. Glad to hear you're up.

__________________
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.
Fingers is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I screwed up my hop tea. dipflop Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 16 02-03-2011 04:58 PM
I may have screwed this up bad Col224 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 12-03-2008 02:03 PM
I screwed up! russb123 Cider Forum 4 10-24-2008 05:22 PM
I think I screwed up daytondb Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 12 10-02-2008 10:00 PM