Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Replacing 2-prong cord with grounded cord
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2007, 03:06 AM   #1
sphericalcamel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 86
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Replacing 2-prong cord with grounded cord

Hi Everyone, I tried getting some help from a home improvement forum but no responses so I'll call upon the brains from HBT!

Hopefully someone can help point me in the right direction. I recently acquired a c.1940’s Frigidaire refrigerator. It has a two prong unpolarized plug which has exposed wires in the plug so I would like to replace it with a grounded plug.

The problem I am having is I haven’t ever done anything like this before so I have a bunch of questions.

First, I’m not sure how to tell which wire should be hot and which should be neutral. I found this website:

http://fridgedoctor.com/fridge-docto...-the-cord.html
(go to table of contents, chapter 5, replacing the cord)

Which said that the one which is common with the outside of the light bulb holder is neutral. However, it also said that the part of the cord with ribbing is neutral. In my case the unribbed one is common with the outside of the light bulb holder. Does the fact the fridge is so old explain why that advice doesn’t work? How should I determine what the neutral wire should be?

For the grounding, what is the best way to ground the fridge? My multimiter isn’t showing any conduction between various parts of the frame, although that may just be from rust. I’m planning on just drilling a hole into the frame for grounding, does that sound good?

I am planning on cutting the current wire and splicing together with a replacement beyond where it is attached to the fridge. I can’t access the junction box under the fridge easily. Is this a safe way to connect a new wire or should I try to get to the heart of the electronics?

Any other advice or hints or things I should know before embarking on this project? It doesn’t seem to hard to me, but should this be something I should have someone else do for me?

Thank you very much for any help at all!

__________________

Double Mutt Brewing!

On deck: More Apfelwein
Primary 1: 011 Trippel
Primary 2: 010 Wit
Primary 3: empty
Kegged: 009 Zaca Fire Ash Hefeweizen
008 Summer Hefeweizen

sphericalcamel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2007, 04:40 AM   #2
WOP31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
WOP31's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,332
Liked 8 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I had to replace the cord on my 1952 Philco Kegerator, I just used a two wire set up with a two pronged plug. If you are bound and determined to ground it out you should take the extra steps to replace the whole cord. i just spliced in and used heat-shrink, to seal it up. Also I think (my opinion) that you should go with the portion of the cord that is external, meaning not the part running ot the light bulb, of the fridge, in which case the ribbed part would be nuetral. again these are my opinions and in no way should be taken as fact, or coherent recomendations

Cheers

__________________
"Yes, I am a pirate two hundred years too late. The cannons don't thunder there's nothin' to plunder,
I'm an [under] forty victim of fate, Arriving too late, arriving too late."
-Jimmy Buffet
WOP31 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2007, 03:41 PM   #3
gnets99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
gnets99's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 61
Default

As far as which wire is common, I couldn't say for certain without actually seeing it. I would recommend calling an appliance repair shop and seeing if they can dig up some specs on the unit (see if you can find a mom and pop type place, they're usually more helpful). As far as adding a ground, most of the stuff in your home is grounded to the chassis or case that it's built in, so drilling a hole and adding a ground should work. Just make sure that that the screw or lug you use is making contact with bare metal.
Again, though, I can't really guarantee that this is accurate without actually seeing the unit. My recommendation is that if you're worried about causing any damge to the unit, yourself, or worse, I would either check with a repair shop or licensed electrician in your area.

__________________
"I like beer. I'll even drink a beer to celebrate a special occasion, such as the fall of communism or the fact that the refrigerator is still running" ~ Dave Barry
Primary: Holiday Ale
Secondary: Rapsberry Wheat
Kegged: Dark Lord of the Stout, Blonde Bombshell
Bottles: Bad Shark Ale, Summer Ale
gnets99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2007, 04:31 PM   #4
HenryHill
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
HenryHill's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perry, MI
Posts: 3,299
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

First, both wires in old plug run to hot. The third wire in a 3 wire is a ground to chassis, in case stray voltage happens to contact the chassis, it is run to ground for safety. Most things on 3 wire plugs are chassis grounded. Washer, for instance...older stuff not double grounded may require the third wire to operate.

Things that are 'double grounded' require no auxiliary ground to operate. It is inherent in their engineering, power tools for instance.

Never remove a ground from a 3 wire plug- but you can ADD chassis grounding to a 2 wire setup, by connecting the new GREEN ground connector ring to a screw that is screwed into the chassis.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by orfy
Never mock another man's brewery.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
This is HBT of course. Normal Thread that goes every direction but the one intended. This forum should be scientific proof the beer causes ADD
HenryHill is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold - NEW 30A 240v GFCI Plug-in ready to use cord! cyberbackpacker For Sale 19 11-25-2009 03:21 PM
help me put a temp swich on an extension cord ben_j8mmin Brew Stands 4 04-24-2009 08:42 PM
8/4 SOOW appliance cord juvinious Brew Stands 2 04-07-2009 01:33 PM
Heatstick questions: Why appliance cord? Why 3+Gr wires? learningmore Equipment/Sanitation 20 08-18-2008 10:48 AM
Temp controller-Length of Cord broadbill Equipment/Sanitation 2 01-21-2008 03:43 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS