Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Remote probe thermometer wort proofing
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2007, 04:33 PM   #11
jerly
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 169
Default

I want to do this to my thermometer. Will the keg lube not cause the thermometer to read wrong if it gets on the braided wire?

__________________
jerly is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2007, 04:56 PM   #12
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,004
Liked 966 Times on 646 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

There's no reason to suspect keg lube will interfere with the probe because I don't think it's electrically conductive. Even if it is, it's not as likely to run down into the probe either.

__________________
BrewHardware.com
Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2007, 05:11 PM   #13
jerly
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 169
Default

Thanks. I'm going to the store to pick up the tubing in about an hour, and going to start my brew day right after. Hoping to be able to use it today.

__________________
jerly is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2007, 07:02 PM   #14
e lo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
e lo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 533
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Oops! Wish I had seen this a couple of weeks ago before I fried that exact thermometer by tossing the probe in my MLT to monitor my mash...

__________________
e lo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 07:07 PM   #15
farmbrewernw
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Richland, WA
Posts: 1,593
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I just fried a sunbeam thermo like 15min ago wish I would have read this thread first I guess I Have learned my lesson every time I try out new equipment I should search for it on HBT.

__________________
Schlonghammer Ales
It well...it tastes.......more fuller
_________________________
I'm working as a pro now, but that doesn't mean I'm not still homebrewing. I'm going to see if I can homebrew at work as a way to develop new recipes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zymurgrafi
wow, tha more I drink, tha more cohernet you all are!
and stufffff.
farmbrewernw is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 07:37 PM   #16
jds
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jds's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,947
Liked 18 Times on 15 Posts

Default

Those probes my not be fried. Try baking the lead and probe (NOT the plastic connector) in the oven for 20-30 minutes at 350. This has revived my probe a couple of times. I just toss the lead in the oven, shut the door so the plastic connector is on the outside, and bake away.

Afterward, I check my temperatures against icewater and boiling water to make sure it's at least good on those two points.

__________________
jds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 07:51 PM   #17
GeorgeH
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 153
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

+1 what jds says, I fixed mine after reading about baking the probe. Then I bought a regular thermometer from my LHBS so I wouldn't have to do it again.

__________________

Primary: Nearly Nirvana Pale Ale
Secondary: Needs cleaning
Kegged: Graff, Web Interaction Wit, Edmund Fitz clone Porter, AHS's Pliny the Elder clone
Bottled: Holiday Ale

GeorgeH is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 08:17 PM   #18
e lo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
e lo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 533
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Yeah, I've heard that works. I pitched the first one and bought another of the same basic type before I'd heard about it, though. The cable on the new one was rubberized and waterproof, so I put some shrinkwrap tubing around the junction between the probe and cable. Stands up fine to being submerged now!

__________________
e lo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 09:01 PM   #19
blacklab
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
blacklab's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 2,395
Liked 37 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by e lo
Oops! Wish I had seen this a couple of weeks ago before I fried that exact thermometer by tossing the probe in my MLT to monitor my mash...
two times...I now have an expensive kitchen timer.

EDIT - just read the jds post and will now try to revive it.
__________________
blacklab is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2008, 03:12 PM   #20
Rhys79
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South Bend, Indiana
Posts: 160
Default

Wish I'd seen this before I destroyed the EXACT same thermometer on my first batch of HB. Problem is, not only did it ruin the probe, but the thermo's electronics don't work right now either, even with a new probe. My only problem is, I picked up a replacement, but this really isn't an option, as I use it as a meat probe for cooking as well. Guess I just have to be carefull with mine.

__________________
Rhys79 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Brand Of Remote Dual Sensor Smoker Thermometer Do You Have? HenryHill Cooking & Pairing 5 08-06-2009 05:01 PM
Wireless, Remote Thermometer - do they exist? maztec Equipment/Sanitation 8 05-09-2009 09:51 PM
Remote thermometer score!! mrk305 Equipment/Sanitation 2 07-01-2008 11:18 PM
Remote Thermometer on WOOT! Evan! Equipment/Sanitation 8 04-25-2007 08:01 PM
Gotta Get Gadget: Remote Temperature Probe treehouse Equipment/Sanitation 12 02-21-2007 02:54 PM