Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Refractometer vs. Hydrometer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2012, 04:35 PM   #1
MKEbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Refractometer vs. Hydrometer

Hey all,

Hoping I can learn something today!

Expected my beer to be ready for kegging the other day and since I'm still green on the refractometer, I grabbed my hydrometer too, for good measure. I have the refractometer from Northern Brewer with the SG scale so the Brix to SG calculations are supposedly already done for me (supposedly?).

I calibrated my refractometer to zero with distilled water, checked the temp of the wort, was just about 60-61. Refractometer read 1.022 SG and hydrometer read 1.012. I was expecting about 1.012-1.014, so beer is now kegged!

But... what gives? I'm sure it's because I'm still learning the refractometer, but I know my hydrometer is pretty accurate because I recently tested it against my buddy's (who taught me to brew).

I'd really like to switch to the refractometer for the ease of checking -- especially since I want to play around with one gallon batches.

Mark

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2012, 04:40 PM   #2
Golddiggie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 477 Times on 420 Posts
Likes Given: 266

You need to run the adaption/conversion software once fermentation starts, when reading from a refractometer. This is a VERY well known item (for anyone using a refractometer at least).

Also, I have one of the refractometers with both scales on it (from Bobby_M) but didn't like it since I wasn't 100% sure the scales were properly aligned. So, I've since moved to highly accurate (lab/pro grade) refractometers for my readings (about $100 each). While most probably won't/don't care enough for that level of precision, I do.

跟猴子比丟屎 ・ Gun HOE-tze bee DIO-se

On Tap: Caramel Ale, Mocha Porter II, MO SMaSH IPA