Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Refractometer, which is best?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2009, 01:56 AM   #1
Jumbo82
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Refractometer, which is best?

I'll be brewing all the beer for an upcoming relative's wedding. The father of the bride said he wanted to buy us something for our brewery as a thank you gift (I said that wasn't necessary, but he insisted). Now I have to find something for him to buy me. This seems like a good opportunity to finally get a refractometer.

I've never used one before, so I don't know whether some are better than others. I've seen a lot of cheap ones out there, but given the situation I'd rather get one that I know will be quality. Is there a refractometer out there that is head and shoulders above the rest? I've read a bunch of threads and seen links to tons of units, but I can't tell whether people are recommending cheap units that work fine or whether they are top-of-the-line. Just picking out the most expensive unit I can find doesn't appeal to me. Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2009, 02:05 AM   #2
stevea1210
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

My $20 ebay refractometer has worked wonderful for me. They don't have to be expensive.

I can't compare it to any others though, as this is the only one i have owned.

You'll have to speak up, I'm wearing a towel. - Homer Jay Simpson

Old 07-02-2009, 02:21 AM   #3
ClaudiusB
Recipes 

Liked 58 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 111

Look at this post

Cheers,
ClaudiusB

Old 07-02-2009, 03:41 AM   #4
Catt22
Recipes 

Liked 57 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 51