The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > RANCO Temp Controller

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2007, 05:05 PM   #1
homebrewer_99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
homebrewer_99's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atkinson (near the Quad Cities), IL
Posts: 17,951
Liked 82 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default RANCO Temp Controller

Need ELECTRICAL assistance ASAP!!!!

I cut the electrical cord to my new freezer to install the RANCO ETC 111000 in-line.

There are 2 wires inside. 1 green, 1, white, and 1 black.

The diagram only shows 2 wires.

Am I to assume the black is ground and just gets spliced back to itself while the 2 others follow the diagram?

Thanks in advance.

__________________
HB Bill
homebrewer_99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2007, 05:26 PM   #2
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yuri_Rage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southwest
Posts: 13,893
Liked 598 Times on 370 Posts
Likes Given: 54

Default

NOOOOOO!

Black is HOT!

DO NOT SPLICE ANY OF THE WIRES TOGETHER!

Ok, that out of the way...black is hot - it should power the controller and get connected to the load via the relay on the controller.

White is common - it needs to power the controller and have a constant connection to the load.

Green is ground. Ideally, you'd connect it to a bare metal spot on the frame of the freezer. If you can't find a good ground, you can leave it disconnected, but you face an increased risk of shock that way.

__________________
Homebrewed Blog..........YouTube Channel .......... Shirts, posters, etc

Last edited by Yuri_Rage; 07-29-2007 at 05:30 PM.
Yuri_Rage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2007, 05:44 PM   #3
homebrewer_99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
homebrewer_99's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atkinson (near the Quad Cities), IL
Posts: 17,951
Liked 82 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks Yuri. I knew somebody would come to my aid in a flash!

So I can just splice the green's back together and all's well since it's a grounded cord (3 prong).

I appreciate it...this round's on me!!!

__________________
HB Bill
homebrewer_99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2007, 05:55 PM   #4
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yuri_Rage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southwest
Posts: 13,893
Liked 598 Times on 370 Posts
Likes Given: 54

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by homebrewer_99
Thanks Yuri. I knew somebody would come to my aid in a flash!

So I can just splice the green's back together and all's well since it's a grounded cord (3 prong).

I appreciate it...this round's on me!!!
Yes, if the freezer cord has a green wire, just splice them directly together.
__________________
Homebrewed Blog..........YouTube Channel .......... Shirts, posters, etc
Yuri_Rage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2007, 06:08 PM   #5
homebrewer_99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
homebrewer_99's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atkinson (near the Quad Cities), IL
Posts: 17,951
Liked 82 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

WILCO...thanks again.

__________________
HB Bill
homebrewer_99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2007, 06:32 PM   #6
FlyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
FlyGuy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,618
Liked 126 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Bill, sounds like you got it figured out. But here is a good article, just in case. The bottom diagram pretty much summarizes what you need to do.

http://www.zymico.com/thermostat.shtml

__________________
Cheap 10 gal cooler MLT$3 AutosiphonAluminum Pot FAQEasy Steam Injection Mash SystemMake a Frozen Yeast Bank
Improving Stovetop Boiling Improving AG Efficiency
FlyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2007, 07:56 PM   #7
homebrewer_99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
homebrewer_99's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atkinson (near the Quad Cities), IL
Posts: 17,951
Liked 82 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks FlyGuy, but it's done. I mounted the TC on the left side of the freezer with velcro.

Also, I had a dolly from Menards and I cut the short sections out and made a giant dolly for the freezer. Now I can move it out of the way when I sweep the garage. See pics.

The freezer is the Frigidaire 14.8 CF from Best Buy, $399, 12% off PLUS 24 months Same-As-Cash!

Now I have 8 kegs in the keezer and 2 in the Sanyo!! Can you say LAGER??

Thanks for all the assistance.

p7290393.jpg   p7290400.jpg   p7290401.jpg   p7290402.jpg  
__________________
HB Bill
homebrewer_99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2007, 08:12 PM   #8
Alamo_Beer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Alamo_Beer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manor, Tx
Posts: 2,481
Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Whoohoo!

Thats awesome HB!


someday.....

__________________
Alamo_Beer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2007, 09:09 PM   #9
anthrobe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
anthrobe's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 580
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Glad that you figured it out. That same problem stumped me for a bit when I first went to wire mine last week. Love the freezer!! Mine is so empty compared to that!!

__________________
On Deck -
Primary1 -Hop Knot 10/04/07
Primary2 -
Secondary1 -
Secondary2 -
On Tap
Tap1 - Kelly's Rasberry Cream Ale 7/11/07
Tap2 - Black Stap Porter (8/25/07)
Tap3 - Hefeweizen 7/05/07
Waiting for tap\Conditioning
Keg1 -
Keg2 -
Keg3 -
Bottles
-
-

---------------------------------------------------
anthrobe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-29-2007, 11:50 PM   #10
homebrewer_99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
homebrewer_99's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atkinson (near the Quad Cities), IL
Posts: 17,951
Liked 82 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

All day (while cutting the grass...) I was wondering what I could put on that shelf...tank is about 3" too tall.

I think I have a mead storage area now...

__________________
HB Bill
homebrewer_99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with Ranco Temp Controller and Freezer LaneStreet DIY Projects 7 08-06-2009 02:06 PM
$50 Ranco 111000 Temp Controller? Brewing Clamper Equipment/Sanitation 7 10-07-2008 05:53 PM
Ranco controller Go Gators Equipment/Sanitation 8 05-29-2008 02:06 PM
March Pump and Ranco Temp controller Questions Mirilis Equipment/Sanitation 0 02-28-2008 02:48 PM
2 Stage Ranco Temp Controller Question caskconditioned Equipment/Sanitation 6 09-05-2007 01:06 AM