Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > question for BCS-460 users

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2009, 01:32 PM   #1
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default question for BCS-460 users

Question for all you BCS-460 users:

Do you have manual switches for your elements?

In my current setup, I have PID's controlling SSR's. I also have a DPST switch so I can switch element off quickly and easily. I may rebuild my rig again - I was a single tier I've decided - and was contemplating doing BCS-460 or something like this:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/control-panel-99717/index6.html

I'm thinking if I have switches for the elements outside of the BCS-460 it sorta ruins the whole point of it bcs I will still have to do some possible "manual" stuff. However, the BCS-460 would be pretty cool and "cleaner"...

__________________
bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2009, 10:37 PM   #2
HomebrewJeff
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lincoln Park, MI
Posts: 300
Default

I don't use the BCS, but I'm using the BrewTroller, and yes I do have separate switches for all elements and pumps.

Here is a mockup of mine:



Rather than defeating the purpose of automation, I see it as complementing it. This gives you the manual control to do whatever you want, without having to setup everything through the system.

__________________
HomebrewJeff is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2009, 02:42 AM   #3
slimer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
slimer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Westmont, IL
Posts: 723
Default

I ran switches to the outlet to be able to use it as a kill switch to kill current to anything that I needed to. Pumps, elements, etc.

I'm planning on doing an all hot panel with outlets that are hot all the time so I can switch wires around if I need to (pumps) for manual control.

Disclaimer: I'm having trouble with my little project box with 1 SSR that I'm using as a test box. I think it's either the relay or my stupidity with the BCS.

Pictures:
Switch

Box

Jumper for kill switch

__________________
slimer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2009, 04:16 AM   #4
SoCalBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rancho Mirage, Ca
Posts: 12
Default

I use switches so I can use the BCS or go manual without it hooked up and use my Love controllers

__________________

ON TAP / BOTTLED: Chocolate RIS 9.6%, Desert Breeze Saison 5.7%, BN Brown Ale 5.8%

FERMENTING: Vanilla Bourbon Barrel Chocolate Stout 1.061sg

ON DECK: American Bitter, Honey Wheat, Downtown Brown, Pliny Clone

SoCalBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2009, 10:11 PM   #5
eccsynd
control freak
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
eccsynd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 175
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

3-way switches work well. For pumps and/or heating elements

  1. On - Manual
  2. Off - Disconnected
  3. Auto - Connected to SSR controlled via BCS
You can always force an output manually via the BCS-460 interface, but for pumps its really nice to be able to prime it by flipping a switch. Also useful for cleaning.
__________________

BCS-460 Temperature Controller - Interactive web based interface, data logging, and programmable control rules.
http://www.embeddedcc.com
Become an ECC fan on Facebook

eccsynd is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-18-2009, 12:09 PM   #6
HomebrewJeff
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lincoln Park, MI
Posts: 300
Default

One other reason that I just thought of, is that I'm only using a 2000watt element in my kettle. During the sparge, as soon as the element is submerged, I can kick the heat on to get ready for the boil. By the time the sparge is over the wort is at a near boil.

__________________
HomebrewJeff is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-18-2009, 03:27 PM   #7
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HomebrewJeff View Post
Rather than defeating the purpose of automation, I see it as complementing it.
Not just defeating purpose of automation, but also simplifying the layout of electrical stuff, boxes, etc.
__________________
bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-18-2009, 03:30 PM   #8
bakins
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: West Georgia
Posts: 731
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccsynd View Post
3-way switches work well. For pumps and/or heating elements[LIST=1]
Hmm, I think I like this idea. Let me think on that...
__________________
bakins is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for carboy cap users hoplobster General Techniques 13 04-07-2010 04:17 PM
Question for ranco users...... martymoat Equipment/Sanitation 6 12-04-2008 04:59 PM
Conical Users: Question PitsPale Equipment/Sanitation 4 10-24-2008 07:17 PM
ProMash Users! Question... Evan! Recipes/Ingredients 3 08-25-2006 06:29 PM
Question for Mr Beer users... UdderJuice Equipment/Sanitation 19 10-30-2004 07:20 AM