New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Question about Sanitizing Dip Tube in Corny

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2012, 07:53 PM   #1
kimeye01
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Question about Sanitizing Dip Tube in Corny

Does anyone know how to sanitize the dip tube in a corny keg without using gas?

This is my first time kegging. I haven't filled my Co2 tank yet but want to get my brew out of the fermenter and into my keg so I can start a new batch. The only problem is I'm afraid if I don't get my dip tube sanitized, I'll introduce too much bacteria.

I'm trying to wrench off the connector but it is too rounded to get a grip.

Help, please!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2012, 08:01 PM   #2
postal_penguin
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Is the beer going into the fridge right away? If so I don't even bother since the refrigeration will keep any bacterial growth minimal over the course of how long it takes me to finish a keg.

If you are planning on keeping it at room temp or taking a long time to drink the keg, I'd fill the keg with sanitizer and then push down the center pin on the out. It will vent the air and let sanitizer flow up the tube.

Primary: Apfelwein, Raspberry Lambic, Experimental Wheat cider, IPA
Secondary: Empty
Keg 1: Hefe
Keg 2: Irish Stout
Keg 3: Peach Kolsch
Keg 4: Empty
Bottled: Bourbon Vanilla Porter, Chocolate Stout

Old 01-22-2012, 08:05 PM   #3
suorangeguy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Liquid Tube Brush - Draft Cleaning - Kegging

There is this little gadget. Then sanitize with starsan.

Old 01-22-2012, 08:08 PM   #4
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 3862 Times on 2823 Posts
Likes Given: 646