*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Question about pasteurization

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2008, 03:32 PM   #1
codyw
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Question about pasteurization

Ok, I am new to world of brewing and am just doing some hard research on the details of brewing before I start my first brew. Researching has gotten me thinking...

I know that most macro brew kegs are not pasteurized and therefore need to be refrigerated because room temperature will cause the bacteria to thrive. What I find odd is that microbrewing insists on long term conditioning of beers at room temperatures. We want the beer to be at room temp so the yeast can properly function, but what does this do in terms of bacteria?

Also, with macro brews, it seems they go bad after 120 days, but apparently waiting that long for a micro could be a good thing? Is it that the macros have already been sitting around that long to condition before they are sent out, then given the 120 day life?

I know this question is not very practical because as a micro brewer, one would not worry about the pasteurization, but I am just curious why there is a discrepancy between macro and micro when it comes to keeping non pasteurized beer at room temperatures.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2008, 04:43 PM   #2
MikeFlynn74

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts

Macro has taught the masses that fresher is better therfore they need to consume more, faster.

Micro is created to let the flavors develop. Unlike Macro that prides itself on being flavorless.

Originally Posted by Tenchiro View Post
The successful have nobody to blame but themselves, I really wish they would take some responsibility for their own actions...

Old 02-20-2008, 05:12 PM   #3
shafferpilot
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 6