Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > pump opinions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2011, 04:40 PM   #1
Zeppman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default pump opinions

Hey guys,

I need two pumps, which can handle high temp water (one will need to be able to handle boiling wort). What should I get? I have no experience with pumps, and while I thought the march 809 is a great pump, people have told me otherwise.

What do you recommend?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 04:54 PM   #2
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 3199 Times on 3104 Posts
Likes Given: 18

With the high numbers of people using them for brewing over the years, the march 809 has been proven to be a good pump for brewing. I really like my Little Giant pump which has a higher flow rate and primes easier than the 809, but if buying new they're a little more expensive.

Old 07-28-2011, 05:35 PM   #3
Zeppman
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Should I be concerned with the polysulfil material that touches the wort? What model Little Giant do you have?

Old 07-28-2011, 05:37 PM   #4
wildwest450
Recipes 

Liked 163 Times on 149 Posts

If you understand the term "not self priming", March pumps perform very well.

_

Old 07-28-2011, 06:22 PM   #5
Zeppman
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Yes, I do understand that they have to be manually primed, and plan on installing them under my brew kettles.

Now, should I go with the "high flow" model? Also, can I place a stainless steel QD on these, or do they need to be plastic?

Old 07-28-2011, 06:41 PM   #6
audger
Recipes 

Liked 40 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 1

i have SS camlocks on my poly pump head. as long as you are aware that over-torquing the fittings will strip the threads off the pump, and if you are able to avoid doing that, then you will have no problems.