Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > propane connector to the burner

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2011, 12:53 AM   #1
ArcLight
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 42 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default propane connector to the burner

On Amazon I found what looks to be a reasonable propane burner -
Bayou Classic SP10 High-Pressure Outdoor Gas Cooker, Propane

http://www.amazon.com/Bayou-Classic-...d=L0M1J3H2TCY5

My question is - (since I have no experience with propane / grills / burners) -
will it connect to a typical / standard propane tank?

I was reading a review for a different burner and one reviewer mentioned having to pay $25 for some kind of connector.

I thought all I needed was the burner and tank, not an extra $25 connector. Am I wrong? Does one usually need extra hardware to connect a modern burner with a modern tank?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2011, 01:02 AM   #2
iaefebs
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 238 Times on 173 Posts
Likes Given: 598

You will be fine with the SP10. It has everything you need. It will connect to a standard propane tank.

Old 06-06-2011, 01:18 AM   #3
badmajon
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 8

That's exactly what I use. It'll work fine with a pot.

Your only problem will be if you use a keggle- a sankey (i.e., the big 15 gal ones you get from the liquor store) keg is too big to rest securely on top of it. I had to modify mine to make it compatible with my sankey keggle.

Old 06-06-2011, 02:09 AM   #4
Moonpile

Recipes 

Modern tanks have a male thread on them and the hose has a female collar that you hand screw on. Everything you get from Bayou Classic should be "modern" in this way.