Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Propane Burners

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2013, 03:38 PM   #1
awiens
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default Propane Burners

I use a propane burner to boil, and currently I do so in the garage or patio room. However, it would be ideal if I could do it in the basement where the rest of my set up is. I am no science expert, so I apologize if this sounds ignorant - what is the issue with using propane inside, and is there anyone to eliminate these issues (having airflow come in from the outside, opening windows, etc.)? Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2013, 03:57 PM   #2
ApothecaryBrewing
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Carbon monoxide poisoning happens fast if you use a propane burner in an enclosed space. There was a post on there somewhere where even when used right next to an open door in a basement, the carbon monoxide alarm went off in a matter of minutes.

If you want to do things inside, electric seems to be the way to go, or invest in a huge hood that can move plenty of air. I think some people run their systems off natural gas but then your issue would be setting your house up for that.

Old 02-21-2013, 04:07 PM   #3
mpcluever
Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 47

Read the sticky. http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/carb...ds-real-52676/

Old 02-21-2013, 04:21 PM   #4
awiens
Recipes 

I did some additional research. Not worth it! Homebrew is no good if you're dead. Thanks all!

Old 02-21-2013, 04:32 PM   #5
TahoeRy
Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 35 Posts