The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Plate Chiller or new immersion

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2012, 04:50 PM   #1
MacGruber
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default Plate Chiller or new immersion

Hi everyone,

I need a more efficient chiller. I made my old immersion chiller out 25ft of 3/8 in copper tubing. I'm not very good at building things. It works but I really need something more efficient. I do 5 gallon full boil batches. Would you recommend a plate chiller or a new immersion chiller of 50ft of 1/2 in copper tubing and why? Thanks for any input you can give!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2012, 07:57 PM   #2
67cougargt
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

I went with the 50' x 1/2" after reading Jamil's article at Mr Malty.com and am completely satisfied with the decision. I used Bobbie M's instructions on YouTube.

Old 04-22-2012, 09:39 PM   #3
dwarven_stout
Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Plate chiller can't be beat for locking in hop flavor/aroma.

"I can't believe how many people think Air Lock is pronounced Hydrometer." -BigKahuna
"If you gave me a beer with placenta in it without telling me I would kick you in the nuts." -ODaniel
"We be in a big hurry for dope beer with much alcamahol and flavor, quality, balance, and aroma don't matter. We just wantz to be druck, u know?" -Yooper

Old 04-22-2012, 10:21 PM   #4
jcaudill
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 53 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 4

It also depends on what you define as "efficient". Plate chillers are a heck of a lot more efficient at transferring heat (much more surface area) and using less water in the process. So in those terms - a lot more efficient than an immersion chiller.

Aside from that: copper is pretty expensive these days. Most of the time it's cheaper to buy an immersion chiller than make one.