Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > New keezer wont shut off
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2012, 04:48 AM   #1
jphebbie2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Aspen, CO
Posts: 90
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default New keezer wont shut off

So I just finished up my new keezer. brand new 13cf Frigidaire with a love TS2-010 controller.

This controller came off my last keezer I had for over a year. All programming is the same. Got it all wired up and it started cooling nicely. About 2 hrs after I plugged it in, it hit target temp and now it will not shut off.

Hysteria is set to 2deg, and it is 10 deg below that now. Any ideas? Im 99% sure its wired up right. I heard the love controller relay click when it was 1degree below the set point. its very odd. any help would be much appreciated!

Could this be a safety override from the temp alarm? The thermocouple from the original thermostat is still attached as well. I figured this wolud have no bearing since you disconnect the switched hot side of the original thermostat. I just cant figure out how the compressor is getting power unless the controller is malfunctioning.


Thanks,
JP

__________________

On Tap - smoked porter on nitro
-Sour dubbel (15 months on oak)
- pliny the YOUNGER clone!
- dark english mild

jphebbie2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 06:46 PM   #2
jphebbie2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Aspen, CO
Posts: 90
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Ive been playing with the wiring and when I unplug the switched hot wire from the #11 terminal on the controller, the compressor stays on, so I am confident that the controller is working properly. anyone have ideas??

__________________

On Tap - smoked porter on nitro
-Sour dubbel (15 months on oak)
- pliny the YOUNGER clone!
- dark english mild

jphebbie2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 06:56 PM   #3
zachattack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: , MA
Posts: 2,476
Liked 240 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 125

Default

I'm not familiar with the specifics of the controller, or what the #11 terminal represents.

But you're saying you unplugged the hot wire from the controller and the freezer is still on? Is there any chance you mixed up your wires and you're running current through the ground or something?

__________________
zachattack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 06:58 PM   #4
Monster Mash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 1,322
Liked 85 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

If the controller is working properly the freezer should shut off. Are you using a std wall outlet connected to the controller to plug the freezer into or did you hard wire the freezer?

You could take a voltmeter to the outlet with the probe in a warm area and check the voltage, then put the probe in a freezer to see if it cuts out properly.

__________________
My 1BBL Brewery Pics
Monster Mash is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 07:01 PM   #5
jphebbie2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Aspen, CO
Posts: 90
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

the #11 terminal is the SWITCHED hot terminal. I actually just completely disconnected the controller and the compressor still turns on when plugged in. not sure how this is possible as there is only a neutral connected. could it be somewhere in the lid light wiring harness? Im baffeled at this right now

The controller is hard wired in. I physically cut the hot side(black) of the original thermostat and the yellow switched hot of the thermostat and spliced in my controller

__________________

On Tap - smoked porter on nitro
-Sour dubbel (15 months on oak)
- pliny the YOUNGER clone!
- dark english mild

jphebbie2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 07:19 PM   #6
conneryis007
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Keystone, CO
Posts: 262
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

Could you give us a better idea of your wiring?

Do you have a multimeter? If so is there any reduction in voltage when the controller relay turns off (when the fridge should turn off)? If there is some drop it could be "floating" voltage from not enough insulation between wires/connecters/etc.

The one wire still running sounds like there could somehow still be a connection through a ground?

Unless of course you have completely bypassed the controller and have the fridge circuit going straight to the power source!

__________________
conneryis007 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 08:55 PM   #7
jphebbie2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Aspen, CO
Posts: 90
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Originally I wanted to keep the lid light working for convenience but I may just bypass all circuitry and strictly wire the compressor into controller so it is a very simple circuit. Anyone see problems with this?

__________________

On Tap - smoked porter on nitro
-Sour dubbel (15 months on oak)
- pliny the YOUNGER clone!
- dark english mild

jphebbie2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 12:41 AM   #8
jphebbie2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Aspen, CO
Posts: 90
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

so I have a multimeter. The voltage at the compressor is 120V whether the controller is engaged or not.

I cut out all unnecessary wiring so it is a simple circuit.

it is wired as follows - wall side hot(black) to terminal 8&10. Wall side neutral(white) straight to compressor with a pig tail off to controller terminal 7. Switched hot (yellow) from terminal 11 to hot side of compressor. and a ground (green) from wall plug to fridge frame then to compressor ground terminal.

i am very perplexed by this. How can I prove that the controller is faulty? Could it be something else?

Any help is much appreciated

Thanks,
JP

__________________

On Tap - smoked porter on nitro
-Sour dubbel (15 months on oak)
- pliny the YOUNGER clone!
- dark english mild

jphebbie2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 12:57 AM   #9
jphebbie2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Aspen, CO
Posts: 90
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default

But contrary to the idea that the controller is faulty, when I unplug the switched hot side from the controller terminal, the compressor stays on. So where can it draw the power from if the compressors hot wire isnt physically attached to anything??

__________________

On Tap - smoked porter on nitro
-Sour dubbel (15 months on oak)
- pliny the YOUNGER clone!
- dark english mild

jphebbie2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2012, 07:11 PM   #10
conneryis007
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Keystone, CO
Posts: 262
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

so I dont have this brand controller but...

Why is the hot from wall going into 8 and 10? Is one power for the controller and the other power for the switch?

Why is neutral pigtailed to terminal 7? Is this just the neutral for the controller power?

Two thoughts if your wiring is indeed correct:
Use your multimeter and determine if the internal relay is actually switching? Unplug everything from the switch terminals leaving power to the controller and use the multimeter volt setting to read the 2 sides of the switch while manipulating either the temp probe or just the temp settings.

Second: if the fridge drawing a higher amperage than the relay in the controller is able to handle? Check the actual amperage, not just the listed one. Do this both when the fridge is first connected to power and when its just running.
If you know how to use a multimeter ignore the following... Measuring amperage is tricky as it actually needs to be made part of the circuit in order to read without shorting the whole thing. Make sure the fuse on your multimeter can handle the predicted amperage. Have it all wired up and then disconnect one connection of the hot wire going to the fridge (at/after controller) and use the multimeter on the amps setting to create the circuit.

__________________
conneryis007 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shut off Co2 when not in use? bigdessert Bottling/Kegging 14 04-21-2011 05:25 PM
AC going to be shut off senorswiss Fermentation & Yeast 10 06-16-2010 08:35 PM
We Just Won't Shut Up Brewsmith General Chit Chat 43 09-28-2006 02:27 PM