Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > New burner or upgrade regulator?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2007, 09:40 PM   #1
Didymus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17
Default New burner or upgrade regulator?

Did my first AG last night, also first 10gal batch. Went ok, didn't get the SG I was aiming for but I suspect the crush, hit my temps fine. But the wort would not boil well. Only with the lid on would it boil at all.
So I have this bayou classic burner:
http://www.bayouclassicdepot.com/sq14_propane_burner.htm

Which has a 10PSI regulator and apparently 55k BTU. Should I look at a new burner, or try upgrading to a 20PSI regulator?

__________________
Didymus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2007, 10:00 PM   #2
Scimmia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: QCA, Iowa
Posts: 959
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

From what I've heard, that burner on that model doesn't respond to a 20 PSI regulator. The 15 PSI one might work, though, apparently Lowes or someone is selling them that way.

Edit: it was Home Depot, thanks to the_bird for the link http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=10051&langId=-1&catalogId=10053&productId=100121665

__________________

Last edited by Scimmia; 11-05-2007 at 10:04 PM.
Scimmia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2007, 10:10 PM   #3
Didymus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17
Default

I got it at home depot and I'm not fairly sure its 10PSI. What is the issue with the 20PSI?

__________________
Didymus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2007, 10:12 PM   #4
Scimmia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: QCA, Iowa
Posts: 959
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

From the site you linked to earlier: http://www.bayouclassicdepot.com/bg12_cast_iron_burner.htm

__________________
Scimmia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2007, 10:26 PM   #5
Didymus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks Scimmia. I wonder if I could mount a different burner on the stand, as it is pretty nice IMO...

__________________
Didymus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2007, 10:37 PM   #6
Scimmia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: QCA, Iowa
Posts: 959
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Not a problem at all. How does it mount, from the bottom? If so, it could be difficult to fab up something else to work.

__________________
Scimmia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2007, 01:10 AM   #7
Didymus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17
Default

Yeah it mounts from the bottom.

Does the hurricane / Banjo burner mount from the bottom? Kinda hard to tell from the pics online..

__________________
Didymus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2007, 01:20 AM   #8
HighPlainsDrifter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
HighPlainsDrifter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Coosaw Island
Posts: 855
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

The Banjo mounts through the sides of the windscreen with 4 bolts.

You would have to build a 11 1/4" diameter windscreen to mount the banjo on that particular stand.

__________________
HTTR
Quote:
Originally Posted by YooperBrew View Post
It took me both hands just to squeeze it

Last edited by HighPlainsDrifter; 11-09-2007 at 01:23 AM.
HighPlainsDrifter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2007, 01:22 AM   #9
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,674
Liked 62 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Nope, it has 4 threaded holes on the outer "rim", and this makes it a PITA to mount. I'm still not in love with how mine are mounted, but it works for now. Check my gallery for pics.

__________________
UNIBREW 5500 SINGLE VESSEL BREWERY
WOODEN SINGLE TIER
ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2007, 12:28 PM   #10
Didymus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17
Default

That does sound difficult to mount on my current stand...
Anyone have the newer banjo burner with the 20PSI regulator? Is this sufficient for 10g batches or is 30 PSI really necessary?

Thanks for all the help guys.

__________________
Didymus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
From stove top to propane burner upgrade BeerFan21 Equipment/Sanitation 5 06-14-2009 10:16 AM
have to upgrade burner stand amishland Equipment/Sanitation 10 01-13-2009 11:57 PM
New regulator/burner test hammer one Equipment/Sanitation 6 01-12-2009 10:21 PM
Burner Upgrade? chefchris Equipment/Sanitation 1 09-15-2008 12:33 AM
will pot upgrade require burner upgrade? ChrisS Equipment/Sanitation 3 04-02-2008 02:29 AM