Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > New to brewing, whats the best cheap way to cool wort after ur boil?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2013, 04:39 PM   #1
mattsmitty
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 37

Default New to brewing, whats the best cheap way to cool wort after ur boil?

Hey guys, im new to the brew world. Im gonna be doing my first extract brew this weekend. Right now all i have is my boil kettle, burner, fermantor, air lock and all my ingredients. I feel like i have everything i need except a chiller. Are there any fairly cheap ways to make a chiller? Ive heard of doing an ice bath but is that quick enough?? i went to lowes yesterday and 50ft of flexible copper is 60 bucks so thats a lil out of budget right now. Anyways to make something for around 30 bucks or so??

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2013, 04:46 PM   #2
drawdy10
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 9

I used the 25ft length of copper cool from lowes, some hose clamps, vinyl hose and a female hose end and you are all set. Probably be into if for $40 by the time you are done but it all depends on what you have laying around the house for the supplies. This wort chiller does my eleven gallon batches just fine, works great for anything smaller too of course.

Old 07-03-2013, 04:50 PM   #3
mattsmitty
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

ok, thanks. i think they had some 3/8 copper 25ft for around 30 bucks, wasn't sure if that would be enough. but sounds like it should work just fine. Ill give it a shot.

Old 07-03-2013, 04:57 PM   #4
Rugrad02
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts