Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Need advice on thermometers for Rubbermaid 10 gallon coolers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2013, 03:01 PM   #1
Trippel-A
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 117

Default Need advice on thermometers for Rubbermaid 10 gallon coolers

Hi, I'm fairly new to all-grain. I have 10 gallon Rubbermaid coolers for my MLT and HLT. I'd like to add thermometers, so I don't have to open the lids to check temp.

My MLT has a domed false bottom that is already tricky to get in and out under the bulkhead, and I don't want to complicate that when I do this.

Should I get threaded weldless thermometers like those on bargainfittings.com, drill through the cooler, waterproof with o-rings, and plan on removing the MLT thermometer when taking the false bottom in and out?

Is there a better way to do through the wall thermometers that will still reach near the center of the mash without interfering with insertion/removal of the false bottom?

Should I drop a probe in from the top on a lead? Is there a best practice for that?

Thank you all for any help.

Trippel A
getting over myself since 1999

Primary: none
Secondary: none
Bottles: Kama Citra Session IPA (all grain); black IPA (extract), White House Honey Ale (extract)

On deck: none
Future plans: All-grain saison w/ hibiscus & rose hips, Flanders red, Michigan honey mead, Gose

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2013, 03:05 PM   #2
Xpertskir
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 390 Times on 252 Posts
Likes Given: 21

My advice would be you don't need one.

Pre heat your tun, hit your mash temp, close the lid...go away for 60 minutes.

The cooler will hold your temp very well for 60 minutes...and extremely well for the 15-20 minutes that actually matter.

Old 11-25-2013, 03:19 PM   #3
bja
Recipes 

Liked 100 Times on 78 Posts

Quote: