Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > natural gas burners

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2006, 11:37 PM   #1
D.W.
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default natural gas burners

I'm planning on brewing in my basement, where I have a easy source of natural gas. I see burners up to 300,000 BTU and I'm wondering how much I need? I'll be heating sparge water in a 7 gal. aluminum, and boiling the wort in a 10 gal Polorware SS pot. Does anyone have experiance with this type of setup? Is it possible to have too many BTU's and not have enough control on the low temp end? What works good for you? I'm planning on an exhaust fan for the room. Thanks D.W.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2006, 12:33 AM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 134 Times on 127 Posts

I've been brewing with a 55,000 BTU torch burner for five years and haven't felt the need to go to a larger one. I'm replacing that burner with a 60,000 ring burner to give me better control. The burner on my mash tun is only 10,000 BTU. If you are planning on sticking with 5 gallon batches, I don't see any reason to go over 100,000 BTU.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 01-10-2006, 04:03 PM   #3
casebrew
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

You'll need the correct jet for your gas. Propane uses a smaller jet, NG uses ones 1.6x larger.

I use a burner stolen from a NG wall furnace, says it's 34,ooo. I peened the jet smaller for propane. Works well enough. A real 'hell' of a lot better than my kitchen stove for heating 7 gallons.

Old 01-10-2006, 07:51 PM   #4
AHammer16

Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by D.W.