Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > My coffee can STC-1000 build
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2014, 09:35 PM   #1
jrowland74
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 171
Liked 28 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default My coffee can STC-1000 build

I decided it was time to upgrade my Homebrew system, so I opted to make a fermentation chamber. Here is my stc-1000 build. Thanks to Revvy for posting the diagram http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/stc-1000-wiring-333680/. There are 3 outlets. Always on, heat, and cold. I wanted to make it as cheaply as I could. STC-1000 $16.40, Power cable was from old computer $0.00, surge strip $3.97, wire connectors $2.28, 14awg wire 3 pkgs @ $4.96 ea (but they were 17' each so I have a LOT left for future projects), coffee can $0.00. Outlets $0.99 ea. Total with all wire included = $42.93 with tax. Chest freezer was $50.00. Total fermentation chamber build was $92.93.

1404938118121.jpg  
__________________

Too err is human. To arr is pirate!

jrowland74 is offline
The10mmKid Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2014, 02:19 PM   #2
Indian_villager
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Claymont, Delaware
Posts: 419
Liked 34 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

This is gloriously ghetto! You need to get a corona mill and join the fun over in the Ugly Junk thread!

Props on making it work.

__________________
Indian_villager is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2014, 10:47 PM   #3
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 842
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 121

Default

Frankly, that's quite frightening.

A few closeup photos of the interior and exterior would verify, or invalidate, my fears.

__________________
On Tap:
Second Amendment Amber
Rearranger IPA
Big Breasted Blonde
NippleRub Ultra

In the Chamber:
Empty

Next Up:
Don't know
raouliii is online now
mattd2 Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2014, 12:39 AM   #4
jrowland74
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 171
Liked 28 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

As requested. Any issues I need to fix? I really have zero experience in this type of thing.

1405035419220.jpg   1405035435766.jpg   1405035451214.jpg   1405035466012.jpg   1405035486313.jpg  

1405035495344.jpg   1405035505617.jpg  
__________________

Too err is human. To arr is pirate!

jrowland74 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2014, 12:50 AM   #5
Stealthcruiser
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Atlanta, (Hampton)., Georgia
Posts: 1,821
Liked 168 Times on 150 Posts
Likes Given: 2514

Default

It's a little "shaky" ,but it'll work I guess.
You might want to at least mount your outlets from the inside, that way it will put the side terminals a little further away from your fingers, like when you pick up the unit and the sides flex in.

Go through some of the posts on the issue, and see the enclosures others have used, that would be a little safer.

Plastic, rigid junction boxes and electrical outlet boxes are available at your home improvement stores for not much moolah, and there are even pics posted there to show you what the boxes are used for.

If you have it up and running like you like, just transfer it over.


Edit: What you have there can be easily crushed, and accidents do happen!

__________________

Corned Beef............The other pink meat.

Stealthcruiser is offline
raouliii Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2014, 01:45 AM   #6
jrowland74
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 171
Liked 28 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Yeah, I do intend to transfer it over to something more rigid eventually.

__________________

Too err is human. To arr is pirate!

jrowland74 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2014, 02:19 AM   #7
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 842
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 121

Default

I agree with Stealthcruiser's comments.

The exposed terminals are an accident waiting to happen. Mount from inside, with nuts (not plastic screw retainer) and attach cover plates.

The sides of the canister will flex when inserting plugs, which may lead to opening the lid and holding the receptacle from behind, which will expose the user to shock potential from the terminals and wiring (see below).

The 17' 14AWG wire you mentioned sounds alot like this primary wire. If it is, it's only rated for 60volts and should not be used in this application.

The incoming power cord must have some kind of strain relief but can't tell if there is one.

Be sure to plug this thing into a functional GFCI protected receptacle.

__________________
On Tap:
Second Amendment Amber
Rearranger IPA
Big Breasted Blonde
NippleRub Ultra

In the Chamber:
Empty

Next Up:
Don't know
raouliii is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2014, 03:06 AM   #8
jrowland74
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 171
Liked 28 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

I got the 14 AWG by suggestion from another thread. As I mentioned, I am new to this sort of thing so I greatly appreciate the constructive criticism. The coffee can is a very temporary thing just to get it together to see if the freezer / controller worked and for the novelty of making something unique. What kind of wire should I use? By strain relief I assume you mean to hold it in place? If so, no. I intentionally drilled a small hole for that cord so it fits snugly, but if pulled hard, of course, it would pull through. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

__________________

Too err is human. To arr is pirate!

jrowland74 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2014, 10:44 PM   #9
Stealthcruiser
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Atlanta, (Hampton)., Georgia
Posts: 1,821
Liked 168 Times on 150 Posts
Likes Given: 2514

Default

If ya' look around at some of the boxes I mentioned in your home improvement store, you will find some with a "strain relief" as part of the enclosure.
The strain relief will be where the wire comes into the enclosure, and will pass through a clamp that you can tighten down on the wire, where the can't be pulled out.
There is also a strain relief that can be added to an enclosure that has a "knockout" plug in the enclosure.
As the name implies, you knock it out, to run the wire through.
Install the strain relief, ( slip it in the "knockout" hole), and put the nut on the inside to hold it in place.
Pass the wire through this, and tighten the clamp.

__________________

Corned Beef............The other pink meat.

Stealthcruiser is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2014, 03:06 AM   #10
jrowland74
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 171
Liked 28 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Ok. I definitely plan to put it in a proper enclosure soon. When I do, what kind of wire should I use instead of the 14 awg I currently have in place?

__________________

Too err is human. To arr is pirate!

jrowland74 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My STC-1000 build MrFeltimo Fermenters 2 01-17-2014 11:07 AM
STC-1000 tool box build summerofgeorge Brew Stands 3 04-19-2013 02:50 AM
Another STC-1000 Build . . . KPSquared Fermenters 12 02-16-2013 05:16 PM
Yet Another STC-1000 Build DavetheDog Fermenters 2 02-12-2013 08:21 PM
STC-1000 build Mogget Fermenters 1 09-19-2012 09:12 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS