Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > At Long Last, I'm Ready to Keg!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2007, 01:25 PM   #1
Evan!
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default At Long Last, I'm Ready to Keg!

Okay...so it's been a year now. I've got 38 batches under my belt (40 if you count Apfelwein). And while I'm not ready to completely ditch bottling, I really want to get into kegging. I've got a lagerator (new chest feezer with johnson temp controller) that I can use to store a few cornies and CO2 tanks.

I've been "given" (the reason for the quotes is that I don't know whether it's temporary or permanent) 4 cornies and one picnic tap that is shown here:

So, I'm completely new to this. I have no idea what kind of disconnects and gauges I need. I don't know how to keg (do I force-carb, naturally carb, or both?). What temp should I set the lagerator to? What PSI do I need? I tried searching for "kegging", but everything is pretty scattershot. I didn't see much on the Wiki either.

So...how do I get from 4 cornies, a lagerator and a picnic tap to cold draught beer flowing into my glass?

.planned:
•Scottish 80/- •Sweet Stout •Roggenbier
.primary | bright:
98: Moss Hollow Soured '09 72: Oude Kriek 99: B-Weisse 102: Brett'd BDSA 104: Feat of Strength Helles Bock 105: Merkin Brown
.on tap | kegged:
XX: Moss Hollow Springs Sparkling Water 95: Gott Mit Uns German Pils 91b: Brown Willie's Oaked Abbey Ale 103: Merkin Stout
98: Yorkshire Special 100: Maple Porter 89: Cidre Saison 101: Steffiweizen '09 (#3)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2007, 01:39 PM   #2
anthrobe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts