Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Laser Thermometer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2006, 12:24 PM   #1
pbowler
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Laser Thermometer

yes they are expensive, but It seems that the non-contact aspect would be VERY helpful.

anyone have any experience with them?

I would gladly pay $90 if it works.

will the foam on top prevent an accurate reading?

Drinking: Heiniken
Thinking about: A really Hoppy Red
In the Driveway: 1990 BMW 750il

SLEEPY DAD BREWERY

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2006, 12:48 PM   #2
Evan!

Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I wouldn't trust it personally. I have no experience with them, but there's something about reding temps without touching the material that strikes me as inaccurate. Yes, it'd be convenient, but I think that you might be right about the foam. And who knows how far into the wort it's actually taking a temp reading from.

.planned:
•Scottish 80/- •Sweet Stout •Roggenbier
.primary | bright:
98: Moss Hollow Soured '09 72: Oude Kriek 99: B-Weisse 102: Brett'd BDSA 104: Feat of Strength Helles Bock 105: Merkin Brown
.on tap | kegged:
XX: Moss Hollow Springs Sparkling Water 95: Gott Mit Uns German Pils 91b: Brown Willie's Oaked Abbey Ale 103: Merkin Stout
98: Yorkshire Special 100: Maple Porter 89: Cidre Saison 101: Steffiweizen '09 (#3)

Old 09-01-2006, 01:26 PM   #3
myersn024
Recipes 

I have a small one that I use when breaking in my R/C airplane engines. It works really well for that. I've yet to use it when brewing, but I'm going to give it a try on my next batch. If it works, I'll let everyone know. Here's a link to the one that I use.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXEMG5&P=ML

Old 09-01-2006, 01:34 PM   #4
kornkob
Resident Crazy Uncle
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3