Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Johnson Controls Dig. Temp. Control Not Working?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2011, 07:37 PM   #1
berkeleyjack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 30
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Johnson Controls Dig. Temp. Control Not Working?

Hey guys,

I bought a Johnson Controls digital temperature controller from Northern Brewer about three months ago. Worked great when I got it, but suddenly stopped working in the last week or so.

http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/johnson-controls-a419-digital-temp-controller.html

It seems to power on fine, and it still accepts controls and registers the current temperature correctly, but for some reason it doesn't trigger the freezer to turn on to cool it down.

I went through the manual but can't seem to figure out what's wrong. Any ideas about error messages or other things I should check?

I don't want to have to send it back for a replacement if it's something I might be able to fix myself.

Thanks!

__________________
berkeleyjack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2011, 07:54 PM   #2
matt2778
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: glenmoore, pa
Posts: 197
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Are you sure it's not ur fridge? If the light is coming on and it's not getting cold it's not the controller.

__________________
matt2778 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2011, 10:51 PM   #3
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 9,820
Liked 1122 Times on 912 Posts

Default

Most common failure is the probe, but that controller does do a check on the probe - if it's OPEN it'll flash SF alternating with OP, if it's SHORTED it'll flash SF with SH.

The two things to try are to totally disconnect the incoming line power to do a full reset. Then reconnect the incoming line power, and connect a working 110v lamp to the output line, reprogram the unit, and see if you can get the lamp to light up. If it doesn't, it may be the output relay is toast, or your output wiring has come undone...

Cheers!

__________________
day_trippr is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2011, 10:54 PM   #4
berkeleyjack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 30
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Thanks for the replies! I'll give the test with the lamp a shot.

I know it's not the freezer, just because the freezer comes on when I plug it directly in the outlet without the controller connected.

__________________
berkeleyjack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2011, 11:08 PM   #5
runningweird
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
runningweird's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: State Line, PA, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,088
Liked 85 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 47

Default

sure its set to Heat or Cold? i did that last night. facepalm

__________________

My 6 Tap Long Draw Tower Build:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f35/long...-tower-271578/

runningweird is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2011, 12:31 AM   #6
berkeleyjack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 30
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Just tried the lamp test, and it didn't turn it on.

When I plugged it in it displayed "C03" or "CO3" then did the thing where it flashes "Asd" and the temperature, and then seemed to operate normally, but wouldn't turn on the lamp. Got the little snowflake and stuff so I assume it's set on cold.

I've gone over the PDF of the instructions and can't seem to find "C03" or "CO3" listed anywhere in the instructions... Found another discussion online that mentioned the same code, but they couldn't figure out what it was either.

Bum unit?

__________________
berkeleyjack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2011, 12:53 AM   #7
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 9,820
Liked 1122 Times on 912 Posts

Default

No clue what the CO3/C03 means. I believe the "ASD" flashing signifies the "anti short cycle delay" is set non-zero. You might actually try setting that to zero just to see if it changes the current behavior.

Otherwise...unless one of the function jumpers fell off its pins, or the output wire has come loose from the terminal, it seems like the controller needs to visit a repair center...

Cheers!

__________________
day_trippr is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 02:04 AM   #8
KCBigDog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 298
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Mine is doing the same thing today after working for a year. What was the verdict?

__________________
KCBigDog is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2012, 11:09 PM   #9
parkerhd36
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Poplar Bluff, Mo
Posts: 66
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

anyone ever figure out what this means? i have one i bought over a year ago, but never used until yesterday. Its doing the same thing

__________________
parkerhd36 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2012, 11:18 PM   #10
parkerhd36
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Poplar Bluff, Mo
Posts: 66
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Ok, well. I finally got pissed off enough at this thing and hit it.
And it started working.
must have been a loose connection somewhere. Just start beating your Johnson (controller) when you have problems i guess is the moral here.

__________________
parkerhd36 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Johnson Controls A419 Digital Temp Controller mikechambers Equipment/Sanitation 18 01-27-2012 04:55 AM
Johnson Controls Digital Thermostat Control Unit A419 question JasonToews Equipment/Sanitation 1 06-20-2011 01:25 AM
Johnson Temp Controls daveooph131 Equipment/Sanitation 6 06-05-2011 04:32 AM
Great price on a Johnson Controls A419ABC-1C Electronic Temp Controller bergman1118 Equipment/Sanitation 1 03-23-2011 04:22 PM
How do you convert the Johnson Controls temp regulator? Bouza Equipment/Sanitation 4 11-09-2008 10:27 PM