Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > I don't feat the foam, BUT...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2012, 07:51 AM   #1
Kosch
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default I don't feat the foam, BUT...

...it sure does annoy me sometimes.

I switched to Starsan from Iodophor shortly after I started brewing, I love the ease of use. But, when sanitizing a carboy, I always end up with 1/2 full of foam. I know, I know, it's supposed to protect and sanitize as it rises up, but what annoys me is when it pushes out through the top as I'm filling, carrying some of the wort with it, causing a sticky mess.

Any ideas on how to tame the foam? I really don't want to use Iodophor for the carboys, but it seems like the easier thing to do, I just get overly worried about the chemical coming through if I don't let it drain well enough.

Appreciate any thoughts on this!

Thanks,

Kosch

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2012, 01:09 PM   #2
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1256 Times on 835 Posts
Likes Given: 576

I've never had the trouble you're describing, where the foam carries wort with it when it pushes out. But, you could always just use saniclean: http://www.fivestarchemicals.com/bre...wing/products/

"Be excellent to each other." -Benjamin Franklin

Old 10-08-2012, 02:43 PM   #3
Bricks41
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Simply? Don't splash. I just put maybe 1/2 gallon in my carboy, pick it up and move it around so all surfaces are touched and coated. I put it down until I'm about to fill then repeat the process and drain. I'll have a small amount of foam but very manageable.

Old 10-08-2012, 02:46 PM   #4
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc

Recipes 

Liked 2747 Times on 1648 Posts
Likes Given: 3485