Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > How to wire Johnson Controls A419?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2010, 06:19 PM   #1
amcwi69
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Port Washington, WI
Posts: 15
Default How to wire Johnson Controls A419?

I bought the J.C. A419 at a cheap price, and when it came in the mail I figured out why...its not wired! I looked around on the internet and people kept refering to the zymico.com website, well that website is no longer up.

I know an extension cord can be used by cutting it in half but where do I go from there?? I do have a wiring diagram but I have no idea how to read it correctly.

So can anyone help me out? Pictures would help out a bunch...I'm one of those "learns better from pictures than words" kinda guy.

__________________
amcwi69 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2010, 06:27 PM   #2
redbenn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 133
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amcwi69 View Post
I bought the J.C. A419 at a cheap price, and when it came in the mail I figured out why...its not wired! I looked around on the internet and people kept refering to the zymico.com website, well that website is no longer up.

I know an extension cord can be used by cutting it in half but where do I go from there?? I do have a wiring diagram but I have no idea how to read it correctly.

So can anyone help me out? Pictures would help out a bunch...I'm one of those "learns better from pictures than words" kinda guy.
http://forum.northernbrewer.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=21395&start=0


Worked for me
__________________
redbenn is offline
Rocket365 Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2010, 06:31 PM   #3
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Thiensville, Wisconsin
Posts: 6,637
Liked 211 Times on 186 Posts
Likes Given: 369

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amcwi69 View Post
I bought the J.C. A419 at a cheap price, and when it came in the mail I figured out why...its not wired! I looked around on the internet and people kept refering to the zymico.com website, well that website is no longer up.

I know an extension cord can be used by cutting it in half but where do I go from there?? I do have a wiring diagram but I have no idea how to read it correctly.

So can anyone help me out? Pictures would help out a bunch...I'm one of those "learns better from pictures than words" kinda guy.
don't feel ripped off, none of them come wired.
__________________
motobrewer is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-10-2010, 06:50 PM   #4
amcwi69
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Port Washington, WI
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks redbenn that helped extremely!!

Ok now I have more reason to love northern brewer. I went to the store in milwaukee (I think they just recently opened that location) and fell in love with it. The guys there are extremely helpful. I told the wife she could go home without me, she then proceeded to give me the evil eye...

__________________
amcwi69 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2010, 10:11 PM   #5
chumprock
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,043
Liked 33 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Well... that didnt go so well for me..

Bought a 14ga Extension cord and wired according to diagram.

I checked it, and double checked it, plugged it in and now all I can smell is ozone.

@#$#$@#%

__________________
chumprock is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2010, 10:13 PM   #6
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,939
Liked 428 Times on 349 Posts
Likes Given: 59

Default

Are you running on 120V AC?

Did you buy an A419ABC-1C?


There are other versions of that controller that *look* the same in terms of wiring and externally, but are actually rated 24VDC (see for example this one). You will fry those in a few seconds if you hook it up to an outlet. There is a little card inside the compartment where you wire the connections that should tell you whether it's 24VDC, 120VAC, etc.

__________________

Last edited by weirdboy; 07-15-2010 at 10:16 PM.
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2010, 10:21 PM   #7
chumprock
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,043
Liked 33 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

The part number from my order is A419GBF-1C, which I believe is the 24v model. WHich is the correct part number for the 120v model?
I dont see any specification of voltage in the product descriptions..

FML.

__________________
chumprock is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2010, 10:54 PM   #8
Catt22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,998
Liked 57 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

The part number for the 120/240 vac version is A419ABC-1C or A419AEC-1C. I think the difference is in the length of the probe.

Your A419GBF-1C is the 24 volt version which I think is now DOA.

You can go to the Johnson Controls website and find this along with additional information on the controllers:

http://www.johnsoncontrols.com/publish/us/en/products/building_efficiency/Commercial_and_Industrial_Refrigeration/commercial_refrigeration/temperature/electronic2/a419singlestage.html

__________________
Catt22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2010, 10:57 PM   #9
Catt22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,998
Liked 57 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motobrewer View Post
don't feel ripped off, none of them come wired.
huh? I bought a completely factory wired unit from Northern Brewer a few years ago. The are available both wired and unwired, but every one I've seen listed by the home brewing suppliers has been a fully wired plug and play unit.
__________________
Catt22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2010, 11:06 PM   #10
Scimmia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: QCA, Iowa
Posts: 959
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catt22 View Post
huh? I bought a completely factory wired unit from Northern Brewer a few years ago. The are available both wired and unwired, but every one I've seen listed by the home brewing suppliers has been a fully wired plug and play unit.
To the best of my knowledge, they don't come that way from the factory. Someone is adding the wiring after it leaves JC.
__________________
Scimmia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Johnson Controls A419 Terminology (What's it mean?) hafmpty Equipment/Sanitation 10 08-12-2013 03:25 PM
Johnson Controls A419 Ground Wire WorryWort Equipment/Sanitation 3 08-01-2011 12:57 AM
Johnson Controls A419 Probe Dan2539 Equipment/Sanitation 1 12-07-2009 08:02 AM
Johnson Controls A419: Big Difference? piperbrew Equipment/Sanitation 6 08-05-2009 07:24 PM