Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > How do I save money on filtered water?!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
Chris7687
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default How do I save money on filtered water?!

Hey guys,
So I have been brewing for about 2 months now and after 5 batches of extract I have switched to AG. One of the best things I like about AG is the price! I'm making a American Amber Ale tonight and everything cost me $18 for a 6 gallon batch! That is until I need to get the water. I live in Tampa and our tap water isn't to hard but I can taste the chemicals and chlorine in it, so I refuse to use this in my beer. I was curious to know what routes people have gone to save money on water, as opposed to spending $2 for 2.5 gallons every time and needing 8.5 gallons (at least) per batch. That's an extra $6-7 a batch x 4-5 batches a month x 12 months a yr! Rather spend that $300 on something else (like a shotgun!). I am renting right now, but plan to stay in the area for atleast 2-3 more years so I am open to a easy, permanent fixture. So let the idea's flow guys. Thanks.

PS - I have a large Brita Crafe, would this be fine for small extra ammounts of water? Maybe 2 gallons? Seem like a lot to fill up 8-9 gallons with this thing

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2012, 08:52 PM   #2
Monster Mash
Recipes 

Liked 86 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 12

You can go really cheap and just use campdon tablets or spend a little and get a carbon filter.

A carbon filter with housing from Mcmaster is about $30

http://www.mcmaster.com/#standard-wa...evices/=gksvqa

Old 03-08-2012, 09:25 PM   #3
Chris7687
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts