Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Home made propane burner designs?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-18-2008, 05:34 PM   #1
Griz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Home made propane burner designs?

Hi All

I've been brewing all grain for a little over 4 years now and during that time I've been using the burner that came with my turkey fryer. It does the job but I must spend an hour and a half on brew day waiting for the water/wort to boil. So I decided to buy a new burner. I just purchased a 23 jet burner from topfoodservices.com and it ought to be here in a day or two.
I had intended to gut my old burner and mount the new burner in the old stand until I saw a nice custom kettle stand out on the net. I did a little re-design and my buddy has agreed to weld it up for me this weekend.
Anyway, I'm also looking at making a 3 tier, 2 burner brew stand and I had originally thought I'd just get 2 more of these Jet burners until... I saw that custom kettle stand. It had a home made propane burner in it that looked like little more than a steel pipe with a propane jet in the middle. I thought "hey I could save a couple bucks and just make the burners myself!" So I started looking for info on burner design. Unfortunately the only information I can find on propane burner design is from the home forge enthusiasts and I'm thinking that a burner that can melt iron is probably a little more than I need.
So the question is where can I get information on propane burner design for home brewing?

Thanks
Griz

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2008, 05:36 PM   #2
Kilgore_Trout
Recipes