Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > help with BCS460 SSR wiring
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2009, 07:19 PM   #1
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,812
Liked 55 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default help with BCS460 SSR wiring

So I posted this on the BCS460 forum as well, but I know there are quite a few BCS users here, and a ton of EE and general smart people here that might be able to help. As well as a lot more traffic on this site.

So for the past week I have been building a case and setting up my BCS460, I have successfully updated the firmware to th 2.0 version, and have been able to control one SSR (Crydom D2425) through the out0 using the manual mode, on and off, and with the thermocoupler.

My problem is now I am trying to set up two more ssr's controlled through out1 and out2 I can't get the the bcs to control the ssrs. One thing I think is strange is that when I wire them up I get a consent 105v output when the BCS has them on or off, or even when the BCS is not on. Where as the one that is functioning, will only read 30v if it is not on.
I have swapped out three different SSR's on the out1 and 2 and have the same problem. But I have not tested the out3,or 4 yet. One thing I have done is connected all the three grounds to the same ground in the BCS, but this dose not seem to affect the out0

If any one can point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Bryan

__________________
Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 07:48 PM   #2
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,772
Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bsquared View Post
So I posted this on the BCS460 forum as well, but I know there are quite a few BCS users here, and a ton of EE and general smart people here that might be able to help. As well as a lot more traffic on this site.

So for the past week I have been building a case and setting up my BCS460, I have successfully updated the firmware to th 2.0 version, and have been able to control one SSR (Crydom D2425) through the out0 using the manual mode, on and off, and with the thermocoupler.

My problem is now I am trying to set up two more ssr's controlled through out1 and out2 I can't get the the bcs to control the ssrs. One thing I think is strange is that when I wire them up I get a consent 105v output when the BCS has them on or off, or even when the BCS is not on. Where as the one that is functioning, will only read 30v if it is not on.
I have swapped out three different SSR's on the out1 and 2 and have the same problem. But I have not tested the out3,or 4 yet. One thing I have done is connected all the three grounds to the same ground in the BCS, but this dose not seem to affect the out0

If any one can point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Bryan


If you connected out0 to SSR1 (+) and SSR1 (-) to GND and out1 to SSR2 (+) and SSR2 (-) to GND it should work. All the GND's are common. You do not need the thermocouple to simply toggle the SSR's on and off in manual mode. It should work barring a bad connection, solder joint or defective hardware.
__________________

Guy

Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2009, 08:48 PM   #3
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Did you test them prior to the update to 2.0 ??
Did you do a reset?
Did you switch the good SSR and whatever it is controlling with another output?
Are you just switching the SSR's without any equipment on the output side? I think this might be an issue - not sure.


I am not an electrician and some of this is beyond my knowledge but why would you have 105V or 30V coming off the SSR in the off state?

I've yet to actually run mine since the 2.0 upgrade, I guess I better get out and test the equipment soon.

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2009, 12:52 AM   #4
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,812
Liked 55 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

ECC on the BCS web site helped me out, I guess the Crydom D2425 SSR need a minimum of load 40mA to function. The battery charger I was using was 30mA, so I could not get them to load.

I hooked up my dremal and got it to work great.

Now I'm stoked! I get to hook up my HLT and pump and I can try to brew with this thing!

__________________
Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another HLT wiring Q? ol' rummie DIY Projects 0 11-24-2009 12:26 PM
BCS-460 and SSR wiring help! cyberbackpacker DIY Projects 8 10-24-2009 08:40 PM
Need help with wiring barnbrew DIY Projects 2 10-02-2009 02:52 AM
Ranco Wiring Jonnio Bottling/Kegging 5 05-08-2008 09:02 PM
Help on wiring attitude Equipment/Sanitation 12 09-20-2007 02:26 PM