Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Help assemble a brewery...on a budget!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2013, 09:47 PM   #1
BrewingPrepper
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Help assemble a brewery...on a budget!

Hey all,

I am a new brewer, however I wanna start assembling an all grain set up. I am an auto tech so the importance of buying quality the first time is more appealing then constantly upgrading. I would also like to go all grain as soon as possible.

Would you guys suggest buying a cooler set up so I can go all grain ASAP? Then start slowly collecting the stainless pieces and other things that make it easier like pumps, stir plates etc. Or just stick to partial mash until I collect lots of high end equipment. I am going to be investing a few hundred bucks in equipment very soon.

I currently have just a basic set up for extract brewing.
6.9 Gal fermenter
6.5 Bottling bucket
5.5 Stainless boil kettle
Auto siphon
Capper
And other odds and ends

Can you guys help me prioritize what to get next? And also help me with the equipment needed to build a really nice rig. Any advice would be appreciated.

Drinking-IPA
Fermenter-Oatmeal Stout

If anyone has concerns about the direction the world is going please PM me for more details...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2013, 10:10 PM   #2
barleywhore69
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Build a wort chiller. Mine is only 20' of 3/8th o.d. copper ($25) but it works pretty well. i used hose clamps to attach the tubing then a hose clamp to attach a garden hose adapter to the tubing for input.
Buy a 40qt+ stock pot. I found an aluminum one for $1/qt, shipped. Restaurant supply sites are good.