Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > grain mill

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2008, 12:25 PM   #1
THEDIETZ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default grain mill

I don't have the money for a grain mill and I am new to this so I don't yet have a need for one. I was told I could just put the grain in a baggie and use a rolling pin to crack them up. Is this the best method without a mill. Can you guys share other methods with me? THANKS

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2008, 12:43 PM   #2
jeff967
Recipes 

My 1st all grain batch, used a wine bottle and a cookie sheet, no baggie. and had good results on the batch. so I will say that it can be done, but the 10lbs of grain took a damm long time to do. and will encourage you to get a mill soon.

Old 07-30-2008, 12:50 PM   #3
Tonedef131
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I would recommend getting it crushed wherever you are buying the grain. It will be much quicker and will most likely be more even.

I usually have 20+ pound grain bills and that takes long enough with a mill, I can't imagine crushing grain for an all grain batch with a rolling pin.

Old 07-30-2008, 01:25 PM   #4
Spine
Recipes 

I wouldn't manually crush any more than 2-3lbs of grain.

I did this same thing last weekend. My 2-row was already crushed but I didn't get my vienna or crystal crushed because I need it to last longer so I had to crush 2.5lbs by hand.

For me I found that using a rubber mallet did a good job of crushing the grain but you need to make sure there isn't a lot in the bag (maybe 1/4-1/2lb) at a time or else it wont be very even. Secondly, you will more than likely rip the bag in a couple of places with the sharp hulls and this can cause quite a mess.

I also tried to use our pasta maker which has adjustable stainless rolls to crush the grain and it didn't pull any grain through the wheels because the rollers weren't knurled.