Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Good Brew Pot?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2011, 03:46 AM   #1
rnotvest
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Good Brew Pot?

I've been borrowing my buddy's stainless steel pot for the past few batches and now I need to get my own. Does anyone have any good recommendations as to what to buy? Keep in mind I'm a college student so cash is tight.

I've heard porcelain is not great because the coating can scratch easily, but what about aluminum? Or are neither of them good and I should just drop a lot of money on a stainless steel?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2011, 03:50 AM   #2
JBrady
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

If your strapped for cash you could try to get your hands on an old stainless keg from a friend or bar, cut the top out of it and you'll have a 15 gallon SS pot dirt cheap.

Bottled: Janet's Brown, Session Dry Stout, Yellow Fly Cream Ale

Gallons Brewed In 2011-40

Old 01-07-2011, 03:54 AM   #3
TANSTAAFB
Recipes 

Liked 112 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 12

This is a sticky in this forum. If you are having trouble finding answers with the site's search try google with HBT included in the search.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/faq-aluminum-pots-boil-kettles-49449/

Check recyclers for old kegs...my local guy will sell for $20 as long as they aren't BMC kegs.

Old 01-07-2011, 04:45 AM   #4
Golddiggie
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 476 Times on 420 Posts
Likes Given: 266

For a budget brew pot, I don't think you'll find a better deal than a decent thickness aluminum pot (28-32 quart as a good minimum)... All you need to do is condition them (as per the faq thread) and you're good to go.