Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Glass Carboy with a hole

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2011, 08:57 PM   #1
Blotto
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Glass Carboy with a hole

I'm new to home brewing, I just purchased a bunch of used equipment and have cleaned it a couple of times and I was going to brew my first batch on Saturday and realized that one of my carboys aquired a hole about half way up the side. It wasn't there on last Wednesday when I was cleaning it in preparation of my first brew. I haven't tested it yet to see if it will still hold liquid or if it is going to be a sprinkler coming out the side.
Is this common of carboys to "wear out" and aquire holes or is it more likely that something happened to put a hole in the side. The mark itself is less than a 1/4" on the inside and the hole is about 1 mm diameter on the outside.
Has anybody experienced anything like this with their carboys?

Thanks for your responses.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2011, 09:02 PM   #2
Priemus
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Nopes.

Its glass right? or is it a betterbottle?

Eitherway a hole there is either a fracture, or something you can nolonger effectively sanitise.

Old 04-26-2011, 09:57 PM   #3
mattmcl
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

I wouldn't use it. The hole creates a weak spot in the glass- it could end up coming apart once stressed (ie, once it's full, and you're carrying it).

Old 04-26-2011, 10:34 PM   #4
emjay
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1711 Times on 1600 Posts
Likes Given: 1

The poster above is right. Sanitation is the real issue, but I think there's even more to be concerned about.