Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Freezer Setting w/ A419 Control - Max., Min., Middle?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2011, 09:05 PM   #1
mthelm85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 186
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Freezer Setting w/ A419 Control - Max., Min., Middle?

I just hooked up my Johnson A419 to my chest freezer yesterday for a Scottish Ale I'm brewing. Seems to be working well taped to the side of the carboy with a gel pack and bubble wrap on top of that but I was wondering if it matters to have the freezer set to the maximum cold setting, minimum, or in between?

My target fermentation temperature is 64, I have my freezer turned to 6 (the maximum setting) and my A419 settings are as follows:

SP = 65
Diff = 1
ASP = 12

Even though the differential is set to 1 it doesn't actually cut out until the temperature difference is greater than 1 degree so it cuts out at 63.99 (I guess?) but at that point my probe temp will continue to drop until it eventually reads 62 where it sits for an hour or so before climbing back up to 63. It stays at 63 for another hour or so and slowly climbs up to 64 where it sits for another hour or so, etc.

64 is the minimum recommended temperature for my Wyeast 1098 so I'm a bit worried about it dropping down to 62 although I really don't think 1 or 2 degrees will have any significant difference other than fermentation might take a bit longer to complete but I'm not worried about that.

Do you guys who have used temp. control units set your freezer to the maximum setting? I'm thinking if I turn it down maybe the temp. won't drop down to 62 after the cut out point. Or will it matter?

__________________
mthelm85 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2011, 09:50 PM   #2
Hammy71
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Hammy71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,668
Liked 427 Times on 327 Posts
Likes Given: 660

Default

I have mine set for max. Not sure if it will matter.

__________________
Hammy71 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2011, 09:53 PM   #3
Catt22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,998
Liked 57 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

It doesn't matter so long as it's on. I set mine on max as I see no reason not to do so. The controller takes it from there.

Those minor temp fluctuations won't do any harm to your beer. You could improve the performance if you installed a computer fan in the freezer to circulate the air. IME, that makes a tremendous difference.

__________________
Catt22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2011, 10:54 PM   #4
Brewskii
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Williamsburg, Va
Posts: 1,163
Liked 116 Times on 67 Posts

Default

+1 don't matter

Freezer compressor is either running or not . There is no difference between high or low since you are running it with your temp controller the thermostat on the freezer never gets to a temperature where it would come into play.
Still, I would put it on high to be sure there is no time it won't run if your a419 tells it to.

__________________
Brewskii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2011, 06:24 AM   #5
chemman14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 1,594
Liked 33 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 95

Default

Set the freezer to max. I have the controller set to cut in. That way i set the temperature one degree above what my desired fermentation temp is and set the dif to 1. This makes it so as my fermentation raises 1 degree it kicks on the freezer. Seems to keep better control than doing it the other way (cut out)

__________________
chemman14 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Johnson A419 controller - question about setting temp. shanecb Equipment/Sanitation 9 07-09-2011 04:32 PM
Johnson Controls Digital Thermostat Control Unit A419 question JasonToews Equipment/Sanitation 1 06-20-2011 02:25 AM
A419 Temp probe location in Chest Freezer? alexavery Equipment/Sanitation 7 01-24-2011 07:28 PM
Johnson A419, Freezer and Thermowell Help schweaty Equipment/Sanitation 22 12-16-2010 03:08 AM
Process Control - Manually setting PID Yorg Equipment/Sanitation 5 11-11-2008 08:27 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS