Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > FAQ: Aluminum Pots for Boil Kettles?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2007, 09:53 PM   #21
FlyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 129 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 7

In response to the debate (re-)emerging above, yes – perhaps that wasn’t the most appropriate title. Can a mod please change it from “FAQ: Aluminum vs. Stainless Steel Pots for Boiling Kettles?” to simply “FAQ: Aluminum Pots for Boil Kettles?” in the forum index? Thanks very much.

Regarding the content, I don’t believe there are any factual errors. I purposefully did not cite references because I honestly didn’t think anyone would contest the credibility of these statements. Most of the information is drawn from John Palmer’s articles in BYO (especially the November 2007 issue) and his book “How to Brew”. John is one of America’s most respected homebrewing authorities, and a metallurgist by trade, so he is clearly a trusted authority on the topic.

Here is a direct quote from Appendix G Brewing Metallurgy of the most recent edition of Palmer’s “How to Brew” (page 309): “Aluminum is a good choice for brewpots and actively heated mash/lauter tuns. It has high heat conductivity, which helps prevent hot spots and scorching of the wort or mash, and is less expensive than stainless steel.” It is also clear from John’s articles that properly seasoned aluminum pots will not create metallic off-flavours in beer.

I have amended my post by removing the con that SS pots “may be more prone to scorching.” The statement may draw too much attention to this issue, and I certainly don’t want anyone to think that a SS pot will necessarily lead to scorching. Good pots shouldn’t, although it might also be mentioned that many of the most expensive SS pots actually have an aluminum clad bottom that is purposefully designed to conduct heat better and prevent hotspots in the pot.