Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > does this mean broken hydrometer?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2011, 12:47 PM   #1
Grantman1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 353
Liked 35 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default does this mean broken hydrometer?

I finished up a batch yesterday and drew a sample before pitching the yeast. My hydrometer dropped to 1.030, but when I tapped it a few times it went to about 1.050, about what I was aiming for. The thing is though, if I manually pushed down on the top of the hydrometer or pulled it up a little out of the tube, it would just stop wherever i left it.

Is it broken?


Water temp was about 75 degrees. There were many hop particles in suspension. I wouldn't be too worried if it were an extract batch but this was the first all grain batch on a mash tun and I want to dial everything in.

__________________
Grantman1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 12:51 PM   #2
devilishprune
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,242
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Is there a hole in it or anything? Check that at the same time that you test it in water (preferably distilled). It should read 1.000 in there.

__________________
devilishprune is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 12:55 PM   #3
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,277
Liked 1268 Times on 845 Posts
Likes Given: 584

Default

Sounds like it is just getting stuck on the edge of the tube. There's no way a hydrometer could just "sit" at whatever depth you last set it, regardless of the status of the wort.

As for the hop particles, they won't change your reading directly, but if there are too many they can stick to your hydrometer. Let the test jar sit for a while and everything will settle out.

__________________
MalFet is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 02:22 PM   #4
BrooklynBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Default

MalFet's right

Get a larger tube/ jar from lhbs

I always give it a spin before taking a reading to make sure it's off the edge and has no air bubbles on it

__________________
BrooklynBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 02:45 PM   #5
Grantman1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 353
Liked 35 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Thanks - I'll get a wider tube. I just used water (not distilled) in my thief to take a measurement - spun it and tapped the tube a few times. It read about 1.000 but was a real p.i.t.a. just to get there. I'll just brew another batch later this week after getting a new test tube to start figuring my numbers. I appreciate the help guys.

__________________
Grantman1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 03:32 PM   #6
Misplaced_Canuck
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Misplaced_Canuck's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NE Columbia SC - Formerly, Montreal Canada
Posts: 2,773
Liked 135 Times on 109 Posts
Likes Given: 42

Default

Is the test tube too narrow? Like someone else said, give it a spin when you put it in the test tube.

M_C

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misplaced_Canuck
Carbonic bite? Is that like the bubonic plague?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebstauffer
Needless to say after more than a few drams my mental efficiency matched my mashing efficiency.
Misplaced_Canuck is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 03:38 PM   #7
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,277
Liked 1268 Times on 845 Posts
Likes Given: 584

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misplaced_Canuck View Post
Is the test tube too narrow? Like someone else said, give it a spin when you put it in the test tube.

M_C
Welcome to the conversation
__________________
MalFet is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken Carboy! kfox527 Equipment/Sanitation 2 11-23-2010 03:02 PM
Broken Hydrometer simcoe4life Equipment/Sanitation 7 06-10-2009 12:23 AM
Broken hydrometer.. BlackNotch Equipment/Sanitation 12 10-21-2008 11:09 PM
Broken Hydrometer Blues njnear76 Equipment/Sanitation 18 05-20-2008 10:52 PM
refractometer broken? killian Equipment/Sanitation 4 02-07-2008 09:03 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS