Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Digital Multimeter as a Thermometer - can I replace the probe with any Thermocouples?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2012, 07:18 AM   #1
reverendnathan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 48
Default Digital Multimeter as a Thermometer - can I replace the probe with any Thermocouples?

I have this multimeter here, in which a thermometer probe connects to the COM and red line. I've had other thermometers over time, but this is pretty damn accurate, I think down to the degree. Unfortunately, I broke the included thermometer probe, and Extech, the manufacture, does not have a replacement.

I believe the item was a thermocouple, but the inputs were separated, like a voltage tester's two inputs are separated, and not together as one connected line, like a thermocouple probe's input. Does this mean buying a thermocouple probe will not work, and if so, am I SOL for a replacement thermometer probe?

Here is a picture for clarification:


Will a thermocouple probe connect to this multimeter? Does something like the thermometer probe I broke exist so I can just replace that?

EDIT: From the manual: "1. Insert the type K thermocouple probe into the Temp and COM jacks." So... does that mean this is indeed a thermocouple probe?
__________________

You can trust me to make the beer. You cannot trust me with what I'll do to it once it's done.


reverendnathan is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2012, 11:09 AM   #2
DaleP
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Webster Groves, Missouri
Posts: 144
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

You need a type K thermocouple. There are other types.....

__________________
DaleP is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2012, 12:27 PM   #3
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 19,895
Liked 3724 Times on 2288 Posts
Likes Given: 3223

Default

Easiest thing to do is find one of these


http://www.testpath.com/Categories/A...Plugs-7790.htm

It will allow you to stick a standard thermocouple probe into it. I'm guessing the correct metals are used to ensure no junction errors.

Or you could just get a thermocouple with pigtails, split and separate the wires, and attach them to banana jacks ( Radio Shack).

If you don't have thermocouples, you can just about anything you want at Omega (http://www.omega.com/toc_asp/section...ok=temperature).

__________________
Am I Insane or do I really see Heaven in Your Eyes?
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2012, 12:50 PM   #4
zachattack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: , MA
Posts: 2,565
Liked 249 Times on 213 Posts
Likes Given: 140

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendnathan View Post
EDIT: From the manual: "1. Insert the type K thermocouple probe into the Temp and COM jacks." So... does that mean this is indeed a thermocouple probe?
Your edit says it all! Every DMM I've used only reads type K thermocouples. Tons of sources for them, even McMaster sells some. Passedpawn is right, Omega has an awesome selection.
__________________
zachattack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2012, 06:52 PM   #5
reverendnathan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 48
Default

Cool, thanks for the responses! I am going to check Fry's today to see if they have them, if not I'll order online. Looks like the cheapest is Thermoworks has a 12$ probe.

__________________

You can trust me to make the beer. You cannot trust me with what I'll do to it once it's done.

reverendnathan is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2012, 07:11 PM   #6
cyclogenesis
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 320
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Hmm... this makes me think I should just install thermocouples in my mashtun, HLT and kettle and leave some connectors for me to walk up and plug in my multimeter...

__________________

Drinking: Dogtoberfest, Autumn Harvest Amber, Fire in the Belly Imperial Stout.
Fermenting: V for Vienna, 2013 Bock.
In planning: TEA for two, First Flakes American Brown.

cyclogenesis is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2012, 07:17 PM   #7
rhamilton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,257
Liked 64 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclogenesis View Post
Hmm... this makes me think I should just install thermocouples in my mashtun, HLT and kettle and leave some connectors for me to walk up and plug in my multimeter...
This is my plan for my PC-controlled setup.
__________________
On Deck: Cornucopia Oktoberfest
Primary: Centennial Blonde v2, Ed Wort's Kolsch
Secondary: none
Kegged: County Jail Pale Ale, AHS Anniv IPA, AHS Brooklyn Brown, Raspberry Wheat, Blood Orange Hefe, Ranger IPA clone (x2), Newcastle clone, AHS Irish Red, Centennial Blonde
Bottled: Session Series Belgian Saison, Apocalypso, Pecan Porter, DFH 90 Minute Clone, Apfelwein (x2), Wytchmaker Rye IPA Clone, Vienna/Simcoe SMaSH, Munich/Cascade SMaSH
rhamilton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2012, 07:29 PM   #8
nutty_gnome
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
nutty_gnome's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Princeton, Nj
Posts: 1,147
Liked 55 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

This is interesting. I have a Sperry DM5300 that says it can use 'temperature adapter TA-1A' to measure from -50 to 1300 C. I haven't thoroughly searched yet but it appears to be a K type thermocouple adapter. Is anyone familiar with that type of add on to a multimeter? What setting would I use to read temp?

__________________

N_G
It could be worse.

nutty_gnome is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2012, 08:02 PM   #9
zachattack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: , MA
Posts: 2,565
Liked 249 Times on 213 Posts
Likes Given: 140

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutty_gnome View Post
This is interesting. I have a Sperry DM5300 that says it can use 'temperature adapter TA-1A' to measure from -50 to 1300 C. I haven't thoroughly searched yet but it appears to be a K type thermocouple adapter. Is anyone familiar with that type of add on to a multimeter? What setting would I use to read temp?
There's usually a setting with a little picture of a bulb thermometer, or else there's a special mode on the DC mV setting.
__________________
zachattack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2012, 03:03 AM   #10
reverendnathan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 48
Default

OK, one last question: uhh... how much should I be paying for all this? Fry's wants 30$ for a FLUKE brand thermocouple with a banana plug, however the material specs say not to use it in a liquid application... so that sort of turns me off. I mean, this whole multimeter cost me 25$, it seems ridiculous to replace all of it with 30$ worth of equipment...

__________________

You can trust me to make the beer. You cannot trust me with what I'll do to it once it's done.

reverendnathan is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accurate digital thermometer w/ probe? riored4v Equipment/Sanitation 9 11-11-2013 01:51 AM
CDN Digital Probe Thermometer, Timer & Clock Vtbrew Equipment/Sanitation 3 02-18-2010 01:19 AM
Waterproof digital probe thermometer. Exist? Redweasel Equipment/Sanitation 11 03-17-2008 03:16 AM
Digital probe thermometer rohanski Equipment/Sanitation 5 10-26-2007 11:27 PM
Digital probe thermometer is off- Is it fixable?? megavites Equipment/Sanitation 4 06-05-2007 04:50 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS