Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > dang i installed the wrong pid again!!! help
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2009, 03:30 AM   #1
kickflip_mj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 925
Liked 98 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default dang i installed the wrong pid again!!! help

so i bought the aubrins pid with the relay output not the SSR and i own an SSR.. i already installed it, havnt ran it and there is no wy to return it what can i do? im running a 1500 W element. i have had nothing but issues with the pids. im sick of it. could the element be underpowerd by th pid?

1/16 DIN PID Temperature Controller (Relay Output) [SYL-2342] - $44.50 : auberins.com, Temperature control solutions for home and industry

__________________
kickflip_mj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 04:24 AM   #2
kickflip_mj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 925
Liked 98 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

nothing yet?

__________________
kickflip_mj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 04:28 AM   #3
The Pol
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11,616
Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts

Default

What are you controlling the temp. of? Do you really need a PID/SSR for it? 1500W can run off an A419.

Otherwise, yup, better get another PID.

__________________
The Pol is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 04:40 AM   #4
lamarguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,657
Liked 20 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickflip_mj View Post
so i bought the aubrins pid with the relay output not the SSR and i own an SSR.. i already installed it, havnt ran it and there is no wy to return it what can i do? im running a 1500 W element. i have had nothing but issues with the pids. im sick of it. could the element be underpowerd by th pid?
No offense, but it sounds like your issue has more to do with attention to detail than PIDs. Auberins sells a generic SSR/relay PID, dedicated SSR PID, and dedicated relay PID.

Have you tried contacting them to see if you can exchange it for a generic SSR/relay PID or dedicated SSR PID?

If you plan to keep it, I believe the PID you purchased has a builtin 10amp relay that will support a 1200 watt element. You can always use the internal relay to control the external PID, but the switching rate will be limited to a ~5 second cycle. A 5 second cycle is more than adequate for controlling an HLT or MLT but won't work well for a BK.

Hope that helps...
__________________
Doggfather Brewery

Planned: Lambic, American IPA
Fermenting: 6 gals of 1.090 stout (Belgian) & 6 gals of 1.090 stout (English)
Tapped: Berliner Weisse, Black English IPA, German Pils, & Live Oak Primus
lamarguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 04:43 AM   #5
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 32 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

You could use it, just need to get a DC power supply and run the positive bias through the normally open relay contacts and to the + side of the SSR, then connect the - DC bias to the SSR. Probably could get away with a cheap wall transformer to test. It could click away like a sob though. If you're stuck with it, wouldn't hurt to try.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 04:51 AM   #6
kickflip_mj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 925
Liked 98 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

well its just for a herms set up. im only controlling the temp of like 2.5 gal. no big deal the coil is through a cut down corney with a heating element.. i just am so tierd of spending money on this damn pid crap.. im mad too because if you read the bottom of the description it says i can use a SSR but then i ordered it and mounted it. the stickers on the side are screwed alittle so there is no chance of a return.

__________________
kickflip_mj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 05:01 AM   #7
kickflip_mj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 925
Liked 98 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

damn i read the pid i bought again and well my fault... can you guys point me to exactly what i need? i could always use the current pid for a fridge. lame though

__________________
kickflip_mj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 01:37 PM   #8
lamarguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,657
Liked 20 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickflip_mj View Post
damn i read the pid i bought again and well my fault... can you guys point me to exactly what i need?
This one or this one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickflip_mj View Post
i could always use the current pid for a fridge. lame though
Ha...I can see it now - Guys, I installed a PID on my converted fridge and the compressor burnt up a week later.

Using a PID to control a compressor is a bad idea...
__________________
Doggfather Brewery

Planned: Lambic, American IPA
Fermenting: 6 gals of 1.090 stout (Belgian) & 6 gals of 1.090 stout (English)
Tapped: Berliner Weisse, Black English IPA, German Pils, & Live Oak Primus
lamarguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 01:44 PM   #9
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,772
Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts

Default

All you need is a small 9 Volt DC wall wort supply. I will draw up how you connect it later. You see, the version that is designed for the SSR puts out 10 volts DC to turn on the SSR. On your version of the PID you have a simple relay contact. All you really need to do is provide your own 10 volt DC source (the 9 volt DC walwart, 9 Volts is enough to turn the SSR on) and switch it with the relay contacts on your PID.

__________________

Guy

Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2009, 02:25 PM   #10
ClaudiusB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,282
Liked 62 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 122

Default

One more option:
Get a new SSR with a 120V AC control voltage.
This way no DC supply is required.

Quote:
Guys, I installed a PID on my converted fridge and the compressor burnt up a week later.
Using a PID to control a compressor is a bad idea...
You can use a PID as long you don't use it in the proportional mode.


Cheers,
ClaudiusB
__________________
My Brewery Pics
Grain Mill Glycol Chiller
Keg Washer
ClaudiusB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blow off tube installed... now what? underwaterdan General Beer Discussion 13 01-12-2009 05:23 PM
Dang it - Bad starter LooyvilleLarry Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 09-05-2008 03:50 PM
New Faucets Installed! Tony Bottling/Kegging 1 01-14-2006 06:10 PM