The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Corny Kegs - Ball or Pin Lock

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2010, 01:27 PM   #1
hightechlofi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Corny Kegs - Ball or Pin Lock

I am very new to homebrewing and am about to purchase some corny kegs. Any suggestions on which style to go with? Are they equivalent in availability, ease of sanitization, etc?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 01:29 PM   #2
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 899 Times on 600 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Ball locks are probably 4x more common in numbers. If you can find 12 pinlocks at less than $15 a piece, I'd go that way. Otherwise go ball lock.

Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?

Old 02-04-2010, 01:29 PM   #3
remilard
Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 37 Posts

Pin locks are shorter and wider, so for a given area you will be able to fit the same or fewer of them as ball locks, but never more.

Availability is heavily regional, ball locks are more available in most of the country but it might be pin locks in Texas.

Old 02-04-2010, 01:39 PM   #4
jspence1
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I agree with bobby m if you can get a good deal on pin lock's get them but get at least 12 or you'll be looking for more and you probably won't find them if you want to.

Old 02-04-2010, 01:46 PM   #5
SpanishCastleAle
Recipes 

Liked 29 Times on 29 Posts