Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Confused about my PID
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2010, 09:18 PM   #1
TBLbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N.E. Indiana
Posts: 204
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Confused about my PID

Can someone who understands PID's and electricty look at this and tell me if I need and SSR with it, and explain the wiring diagram. I plan to use it with at 110 volt element and use a thermocouple.

http://webbuilder2.asiannet.com/ftp/1752/UM90901B.pdf

__________________
TBLbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2010, 11:34 PM   #2
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,956
Liked 778 Times on 518 Posts
Likes Given: 531

Default

The relay on the PID is only rated 3A so you will need an SSR or contactor to switch the load.

You would connect your power wiring for your element through a SSR or contactor and use terminals 8 and 9 to trigger/switch the SSR or contactor.

I use a contactor with a 120v coil. I have not used SSR's and am not certain on their switching requirements.

__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 12:50 AM   #3
kmack747
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bad Axe, Michigan
Posts: 157
Default

If the fifth digit in the model number is a 2 than you can only use a ssr

the ssr will connect to pin 8 and pin 9 the thermocouple will connect to pin 4 and 5
supply power is pin 6 and 7.

__________________
kmack747 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 10:26 AM   #4
TBLbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N.E. Indiana
Posts: 204
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

This helps a lot. As to the model number, there isn't one. There is a label on it that has ssr drive checked. So do I hook up a fused hot to 8, and neutral to 9?

__________________
TBLbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 02:03 PM   #5
kmack747
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bad Axe, Michigan
Posts: 157
Default

A 5A fast blow fuse will go in the supplyline to pin 6 and neutral to pin 7.
a fuse is not needed between the pid and ssr.

__________________
kmack747 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 02:10 PM   #6
MrH
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PNW
Posts: 122
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBLbrewer View Post
This helps a lot. As to the model number, there isn't one. There is a label on it that has ssr drive checked. So do I hook up a fused hot to 8, and neutral to 9?
No. That's a good way to kill your PID. SSRs use low voltage DC on the control side. If your PID has a SSR driver, pin 8 and 9 are low voltage OUTPUTS. An SSR driver is not a relay. You will see on your SSR that one side will say 240V AC and the other side will say something like 3VDC-34VDC. You need to connect those low voltage terminals to pin 8 and 9.

MrH
__________________

Last edited by MrH; 02-21-2010 at 02:15 PM.
MrH is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 02:57 PM   #7
kmack747
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bad Axe, Michigan
Posts: 157
Default

This may help I labeled the terminals to make things a little easier to understand

__________________
kmack747 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 03:01 PM   #8
TBLbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N.E. Indiana
Posts: 204
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Ok it all makes since now except the ssr drive not being a relay. I just ordered an ssr for this, was I wrong?

__________________
TBLbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 03:05 PM   #9
TBLbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N.E. Indiana
Posts: 204
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmack747 View Post
This may help I labeled the terminals to make things a little easier to understand
The picture removes any doubt about where the wires go. Thank you!
__________________
TBLbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2010, 03:06 PM   #10
kmack747
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bad Axe, Michigan
Posts: 157
Default

You need the SSR . Glad we could enlighten you.

__________________
kmack747 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confused!!!! jimmywit Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 14 01-27-2010 09:09 PM
A little confused...... bell0347 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 20 11-24-2008 11:21 AM
Very Confused busmanray All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 12 02-18-2008 03:10 PM
Really Confused? dhaas66 Wine Making Forum 2 06-05-2007 02:47 PM
Confused buckeyemike75 Extract Brewing 6 10-08-2006 10:44 PM